" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2005-02-04 Headache from Hell

I haven't been "around" all day. I spent the morning shopping. I got Emily and Katherine each two outfits for a whopping total of $15.00! Target clearance is just...awesome.

Anyway, Jules got her first official pair of "baby" shoes today too. I spent way too much money on them, even with a coupon (Stride Rite is expensive)but they look cute and they will last awhile.

When we walked in to the store and the guy came over to help us, he asked if she was pulling herself up on furniture yet. Dude, I just told you she was 6 months old. I found it odd that someone who works at a store aimed specifically at kids would not know that a 6 month old baby, no matter how advanced, would never have the strength and coordination to pull themselves up to a standing position with the help of furniture. I mean damn, she isn't even crawling yet.

Anyway, we left the mall, went to pick Katherine up at preschool, and on the way home, I was struck(and I do mean struck) with the worst headache I have ever, ever had. Holy shit. I thought I might have been on the verge of death, and except for the fact that I was driving with two of my children in the car(well that, and just a few other things...LOL) I might have even welcomed it. I felt like I was going to hurl and explode all at once, and when I got out of the car, I even felt dizzy.

I got the kids in the house, somehow managed to make Katherine lunch and feed Julia before taking a double dose of Motrin and spending the rest of the afternoon on the couch...and in typical housewife style, watchingsoap operas. Yeah. That was...shall we say interesting.

Katherine spent the afternoon trashingplaying in the playroom and Julia entertained herself with a rattle for a good hour before falling asleep for her afternoon nap.

I am feeling much better now which should be fairly obvious given that I am here typing this.

We may or may not head out tonight as a family to do some shopping that I didn't get done today. It can be hectic with all of us(especially the older two, who no matter how many times we say, "We are not buying anything other than what we are here for" still ask us to buy anything that catches their eye and usually end up having a fit when they don't get it). We never give in though so go us. Wouldn't want them to think that having a meltdown gets them what they want.

We'll see. If we don't go as a "unit" I may just swing out myself and finish up.

0 comments so far

2005-02-03 Cats!

So, this morning I let the cats up. Trip, the "baby" has been downstairs now with the "big boys" for about a month or so.

Trip is a very active kitten...playful, frisky, and just crazy. At the same time, he can be the most loveable little thing...curling up in your lap and purring like there is no tomorrow.

Joey was very much the same way as a kitten, though not quite as intense as Trip.

Pal has always been on the less playful side. We are lucky though because all three of them are real "people cats" and enjoy cuddling with each other and on the laps of those around them.

Anyway, Trip basically leaves Pal alone but he is constantly all over Joey. He is trying to play...by jumping on Joey or chasing him. Joey doesn't take any crap though. He jumps back, waves his paw at him or hisses at him.

They were up here today and I had to separate them no less than five times. It's kind of funny...they are so much alike they are constantly at each others throats...sometimes literally.

Anyway, here are some pictures...first Joey, then Pal, then Trip.

0 comments so far

2005-02-03 Katherine's Medical History

I don't believe I have ever shared Katherine's medical history here(it's been all about Emily lately)so I thought that I would do that now.

Yes, unfortunately, there is a "history" to share.

Back in September of 02(when Katherine was just under 3 years old), she was diagnosed with "Ketotic Hypoglycemia."

In a nutshell, all carbohydrates (vegetables, fruits and grains, as well as simple table sugar), are broken down into simple sugars by the process of digestion. This sugar enters the blood stream as glucose and our level of blood sugar rises. The pancreas then secretes a hormone known as insulin into the blood in order to bring the glucose down to normal levels.

In hypoglycemia, the pancreas sends out too much insulin and the blood sugar plummets below the level necessary to maintain well-being.

When you have ketotic hypoglycemia, your body turns the fat it stores into energy and as a result it produces what are called ketones. Too many ketones in your system is for all intents and purposes poisoness and can lead to death.

As a result, Katherine needs to eat three meals a day, and three snacks a day to keep her sugar level where it should be.

Katherine's symptoms that occur when she does have an "attack" usually consist of extreme lethargy, a fruity, medicinal smell to her breath and urine(that's the ketones), and a racing heart. These attacks usually occur under the following condiitons; when she is otherwise sick(cold, ear infection or whatever) and after prolonged periods of time without food(after sleeping for the night for example). Her diet seems to maintain her levels well though, and she has only had one attack in recent memory( a few months back when she had an ear infection).

Her endocrinologist indicated that this can be a precursor to Diabetes, although it isn't always. She has exhibted some signs of Diabetes though...definite highs and lows, weight concerns, and frequent urination. When she was first diagnosed, and for the year following she gained 11 lbs. At her last check up, she had only gained 5, which was much more reasonable and a sign that the suddle changes I made in her diet helped(skim milk, juice only in the morning at breakfast, and no soda, except the occasional glass of diet). Can we talk about how hard it is to maintain someone's weight when they have to eat more frequently than others just to stay healthy. No easy task I tell you.


Her other major health concern is allergies. Back in August of 2003, she was tested for food and other allergies. The result? She is allergic to dust, cats, and severly allergic to shellfish. Thank God we had not given her shellfish yet(usually not something you are supposed to give children before the age of 2 anyway but she was almost four when we discovered this). Shellfish and peanuts are the two most serious food allergies a person can have, and the reaction is usually severe. Anyway, the cat allergy doesn't bother her much at all(which is a good thing since we have three!). We keep the cats downstairs and let them up daily for a little while. This option was better than having to give them away and the small amount of exposure she has to them doesn't bother her at all. The dust thing though...man that girl wakes up almost every morning sneezing like nobody's business. Dust is just something that you have to deal with I guess...no matter how often you clean, it's just there. Oddly, she seems to be affected more in the fall and winter seasons, in which I usually end up giving her Claritin once daily. Because it seeems highly unlikely that the dust is any more prevelant during one time of the year than another, I suspect that she may have other allergies as well.

So yeah, I have two children with chronic medical conditions (although Katherine could outgrow the hypoglycemia thing, her doctor said with her case it doesn't seem likely and the allergy thing will always be there).

Thank God that they both function like nomral, happy little children despite the meedical issues surrounding them.

And things, could definitely be worse.

0 comments so far

2005-02-03 Burtwood Idol

Emily and Katherine go every Tuesday to The Burtwood School Of Performing Arts.

They are drama queens, remember? :)

Anyway, they go to the musical theatre clas which culminates in two shows...one in December and one in June. Throughout the year, they are also given the opportunity to try out and participate in various other shows, one being "Burtwood Idol." It is basically a copy of "American Idol" where contestants sing and are judged by a panel of judges, and voted for by members of the audience.

Emily has decided to sing this year! She wanted to audition for "The Emporor's New Clothes" too but I told her that she had to pick one(both are very time consuming and cost money). She decided on "Idol" and we are currently deciding on a song.

I always find it funny how "social" she is. Both Ryun and I are so not(Ryun especially) so it's funny to have such an outgoing, social butterfly for a daughter. She really has no fear. Her first word was even "hi", and she said it all of the time and to anybody. I remember for example food shopping with her and she would say hi to every single person we walked by. God she was just the cutest little thing (still is!).

0 comments so far

2005-02-03 Yummy

I seriously am beginning to think that my hair must taste good.

No really.

My 6 month old daughter continues to grab handfuls of my hair and attempts to get it in her mouth, sometimes successfully.

And she doesn't try to spit it out.

Weird.

0 comments so far

2005-02-02 Damn Hog

Damn Groundhog. I think we have had enough winter don't you?

On a positive note, it's not dark out at 4:30 pm anymore...a definite sign of impending spring.

Woo Hoo!

0 comments so far

2005-02-02 And one more thing...

Meant to say...feel free to share why you agree or disagree with my beliefs...or just share some of your own.

0 comments so far

2005-02-02 Beliefs

Since I have already done a 101 Things About Me post, I have decided to do more of an essay type post, stating my beliefs on a varied number of topics. This post was inspired by Jay.

I believe in ghosts, aliens and the sixth sense. I have experienced a real life ghost story which I will post here at some point, and, while I believed before this experience, it sure help to confirm what I already knew. I find it very hard to imagine that we are "alone." I don't have any real basis for this, I just can't believe that there aren't other planets with some sort of lifeform. As far as the sixth sense is concerned, I believe it exists because I sometimes think I have it. I have had way two many experiences to chaulk up to coincidence.

I believe that there is a "higher power" of some sort. I was raised a Roman Catholic but tend to disagree with the rules the church sets forward. I think that sometimes I believe in a higher power, just to have "something" to believe in. I go back and forth with this all of the time.

I believe in the separation of church and state. I do not think that the words "under God" should be in the Pledge, nor do I think that "In God We Trust" should be printed on U. S. Currency. Not everyone believes in God, not everyone believes in the same god, so it just isn't right.

I would never have an abortion but I do believe it is a woman's choice. I do not know how I feel about a father's rights. Yes it is his child, but it's her body that carries the baby. Tough call for me on that one.

I am all for gay marriage. I don't think that marriage should be considered a religious insititution either. If two people love each other and want to marry, then they should be able to, and should be afforded all benefits that come with it. I also don't think you can "become" gay. You either are or you aren't and either way, you shouldn't be judged.

I believe that cutting education funding is not only wrong, but should be criminal. Foreign languages, music, art and the ususal things first to go are just as important as History, Science, English etc. The children are the future. Mostly because of the outside influences that children are presented with when sent to a public school, I have often considered homeschooling. I have also thought about sending my children here. I believe that teachers, students and most importantly parents should be held accountable for the education of the children...regardless of what schooling situation the child is in.

I believe in patient and tolerant parenting. I believe that a child has needs, as does a parent and both sets of needs should be met. I believe in a relationship-centered, nurturing type of parenting style. I do not believe in any type of physical punishment at all, ever, in any circumstance. Yelling is not necessary(except for safety reasons..."DON'T TOUCH THE STOVE!"). I feel that children learn more from a calm and patient approach to inappropriate behavior then from a yelling, "my way or the highway" approach. Children need to understand that their behavior may be inappropriate, and parents need to work with their children to find ways to prevent it from happening again. A firm and definite set of rules should be in place, but enforced in a way that is calm and reasonable. Expectations should also be reasonable(a 4 year old should not be held to the same expectations of a 7 year old for example).

Most of the time I believe that the war in Iraq was unjustified. I think that this country should spend less time trying to inflict our way of doing things on everyone else. This country has it's fair share of problems. How about spending millions of dollars here? I'm just sayin'.

I am registered as an independent, or whatever it is called now. I tend to vote Democrat, but am willing to vote a candidate in another party should he or she fit my description of what I think regarding how this country should be run. Changing times and various situations change how I feel daily though, so this type of decision isn't something I can firmly stick to. To sum it up, if I like you and what you stand for you have my vote, no matter what party you are affiliated with.

So yeah, that's about all I can think of now...as if it wasn't enough. If I think of something else to add though, you can be assured that I will.

5 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits