" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2005-09-13 Cough Sneeze Blow

Julia cries everytime some coughs, sneezes or blows their nose. Let me tell you how fun it has been here this week. Emily has a cold. Katherine has a cold. Julia has a cold. Ryun is getting a cold. Needless to say, she has been doing a lot more crying then we are used to!

0 comments so far

2005-09-13 Comments

Holy shit! I think my comments are fixed! I just responded to a comment Jay made and the comment count showed correctly, and not on every entry on the page! YAY! It's about damn time!

2 comments so far

2005-09-13 Doctor's are making a shit load of money off of my family

So, I was just looking through my planner for something and I decided, just for the heck of it, to count how many doctor's appointments were written down for the last half of the year(June-December).

Between me and the kids? Sixteen appointments. Yikes! Two of the sixteen are for me (one at the dermatologist...I had this thing that could have been cancer so now I have to go once a year)and one is just a regular physical. The rest...between well checks for Julia, allergy and dentist appointments for Emily and Katherine, endocrinologist for Katherine, and the neurologist and dermatologist(remember the mole on her leg that needs to be looked at)for Emily, my kids have 14 doctor's appointments.

Is it me, or does that seem a bit excessive?

3 comments so far

2005-09-13 Sick Baby

Julia is sick. Not only does she have the cold that Emily and Katherine do, she also has a stomach bug and a fever. She is actually laying on the livingroom rug, wrapped in a blanket, with her head propped on a couple of couch pillows, and she hasn't moved. Poor thing is miserable.

Anyway, I am supposed to head to the allergist today for an "allergy shot" training (whatever that is)before I take Emily and Katherine for their shots, but I think I will reschedule. No sense in taking Julia out any more than I have to.

Emily and Katherine start their Jr. Musical Theatre class this afternoon. I have to dismiss them from school at dismissal time so that they can get to Burtwood on time (class starts at 4, they get home at 4). They are both excited to start.

I think I may try to take a nap with Julia today. I am up earlier than normal because she was, so I am already feeling out of whack.

0 comments so far

2005-09-12 Scenes From The Homefront

During our little camp in the yard weekend, I took the kids for a walk out back, behind the tracks. I took some beautiful pictures, which I am going to share with you here.

This shot was taken while standing on the tracks, looking north toward Middleboro.

A shot of the woods, looking straight across the tracks.

Looking at the path, just over the tracks to the right.

A picture taken at the end of the path, looking in to the clearing. The path continues just across the way.

Standing in the clearing, looking back the way we came.

It's a damn shame that all of this is going to be gone. It's not too often that you see such open, undeveloped space.

This is one of the things I will miss when we move. The wildlife(my family of geese and the Great Blue Herron especially)and the scenery.

0 comments so far

2005-09-12 On the agenda for today we have ...

...laundry and packing. Which will pretty much be on the agenda everyday until we move, and when we move it will just go to laundry and unpacking.

Oh the joy of moving.

In other news, Emily and Katherine were at school for three whole days and they came home with colds, Katherine first then Emily. So yesterday, I went and bought Motrin Cold, Triaminic Night Time, and Triaminic vapor patches. Katherine's cough has subsided to the point that she is only coughing twice or so every hour and Emily is just starting the cold so hers isn't bad anyway. I sent them off to school since they didn't have fevers and wanted to go. I am hoping that this is as bad as it gets. No ear infections please, especially for Emily who has a seizure everytime she has an ear infection.

Anwyay, so far Julia seems ok, just a runny nose. I hope it stays that way.

0 comments so far

2005-09-11 Union Break And An Almost Tragedy

I say union break, because well, the break might be just a wee bit longer than the fifteen minutes that I am entitled. Heh.

Anyway, let me tell you about the tragedy that almost occured just a few short minutes ago.

I was cleaning the playroom. Barry was blasting through the house. Occasionally, the broom was doing double duty as a microphone/dance partner. I was having a grand old time, feeling good about getting stuff done and suddenly, I hear Barry start to stutter.

"I c c can't s s smile w w without y y you."

"NO FREAKIN' WAY," I exclaim rather loudly and in to the broom handle.

"Barry's greatest hits can not be skipping right now. It can not be scratched. It just can't."

I run out to the kitchen, remove the cd, and examine it closely. No visible scratches are found, and I, breathe a sigh of relief.

"Must be the player," I say.


Two things you should learn from this entry:

1. I talk to myself... A LOT.

2. I am a littled obsessed with Barry, and I am not afraid to admit it!

0 comments so far

2005-09-11 Remember...

I woke up this morning, sat down at my desk, glanced at the calendar and exclaimed, "Oh my God, it's September 11th." It's not like I didn't know the anniversary was approaching, I kind of just let it slip my mind.

I was going to link to previous entries that I had written on anniversaries past, but instead, I am just going to share one of my favorite quotes from a book by Richard Paul Evans called, "The Letter."

I think that if the world in general spent a little more time focusing on the good, even if the good is born in tragedy, the world might be a better place.

So here you go...

"It is often during the worst of times that we see the best of humanity-awakening within the ordinary that which is most sublime. I do not believe that it is the circumstance that produces such greatness, any more than it is the canvas that makes the artist. Adversity merely presents the service in which we render our souls' most exacting likeness. It is in the darkest skies that the best stars are seen."

In honor and tribute to the victims and heroes of September 11, 2001. May we never forget their sacrifices, may we never forget how fortunate we are.

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits