" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2005-08-12 Weekend

I know I have talked about coupon shopping a lot lately but I just want to say that last night, between my store card and coupons I saved $46.00 food shopping! $46.00! The bill was $115.96 rather than $161.19! Big difference huh?

I rock.

I am probably going to my parents during the day today to say good bye to my Aunt who is heading back to California tonight. I am sad that she is leaving...her visits are always so nice.


My sister is babysitting tonight and Ryun and I are going to go see The Dukes Of Hazzard. I know that the movie will not measure up to the show but still, Ryun and I are going to see a movie, together. This folks, is a rarity. We can never come to an agreement on movies. Heather is actually going to take the kids to my parents house for a sleepover (my parents are going to Maine for the weekend) so they are all excited about going for a night swim.

Tomorrow we are going to my sister Suzanne's house for her turn to host the monthly get together. Ryun's aunt and uncle are taking the older two children and we are bringing Julia with us.

Sunday I think we are just going to hang around home. Ryun is working on the cars(just routine stuff...oil changes, transmission filter etc). I will probably do some laundry and housecleaning, and fill the pool for Emily and Katherine.

I am actually looking forward to a day of hanging at home. I feel like I haven't been here much over the past week or two between visiting with my aunt and random other things. Relaxing at home sounds like fun!


0 comments so far

2005-08-11 Crawling

VERY EXCITING NEWS! Julia crawled today for the first time ever! YAY!

IN a "timing is everything" sort of way, she did it when Jen was here from Early Intervention! Jen put her planner down on the ground and apparently, Julia really wanted to get her hands on it because she immediately got up on all fours and went for it! I jokingly told Jen that she had better bring that planner with her every week...ha ha ha.

Oddly enough, Julia was out of sorts for the whole appointment until that very moment. The appointment went well overall though and we have made some changes to her services. First off, jn thinks that we should have Julia be evaluated by the Early Intervention Physical Therapist. I had planned on asking her for that to be done anyway, so it was kind of cool that we were on the same page. I also asked Jen if she could come every week rather than every other which she agreed would be a good idea. Come September, I am also going to join a weekly playgroup sponsered by EI, which is held every Friday from 9-11. It's a very structured environment and the children will all be between 10 and 18 months. I am looking forward to this and think it will be good for both Julia and I.

Anwyay, YAY for crawling!

2 comments so far

2005-08-11 Last night

Yesterday/last night was nice...well, mostly nice anyway. Without getting in to detail, let's just say that a littel of my laid back attitude could do a few people some good.

Yeah.

Emily went up on stage and sang in to the microphone to Joan Jett's, "I Love Rock N Roll" and of course, because she is my daughter, she new every word to the chorus. Go me for having my kids listen to 80's music! I just new it would pay off somehow.

Anyway, Bob The Balloon Man was there so the kids got balloon hats. I had to keep telling Emily to keep hers on her head or it would pop. Of course, she kept taking it off and one of the balloons popped. I do feel bad when things like that happen but honestly, I do say these things for a reason. I was saying to my mother though, Emily has bad luck that way. If Katherine kept taking her hat off, hers wouldn't have popped. It's just the way Emily's life goes. Mine too, usually. If something could go one way or the other, it generally goes the wrong way.

Oh well.

0 comments so far

2005-08-10 Plans

I think I am going to bring the kids over to my parents house to swim. It's hotter than hell out there today!

We are having dinner at my parents tonight and going to a family night on the waterfront in PLymouth this evening. There will be a free concert, a balloon man making ballon animals, and a story teller. We will probably go out for icecream too. My mother, aunt and her son, and my sister Heather will be joining us as well.

Suzanne is coming down for the day tomorrow so we will probably be heading over to my parents to swim again. I have my weekly Thursday night meeting/food shopping extravaganza tomorrow so we won't be staying for dinner tomorrow. I may be taking the kids to the zoo on Friday though I haven't made any definite decisions yet.

Anwyay, updating may be scarce over the next day or two.

0 comments so far

2005-08-10 EI Appt

Early Intervention was supposed to come today but she had to take a family member to the hospital so she is coming tomorrow instead. I have decided to have them come every week rather than every other. My aunt, who has an autistic son and has an extensive background teaching speical needs students doesn't think that once every other week is enough. Like most people, she feels that Julia is just very content and lacks the motivation needed to accomplish certain things (crawling etc). She also noticed the low tone in her arms, which is also a major factor in the lack of physical progress. I mean, she is making progress obviously, but it is a slow process.

I love having my aunt here. She is such a great person to talk to about all of this (Julia and Emily) and I always feel so good after talking to her. She is so supportive and can really relate to some of the feelings I have in regard to ...everything!



0 comments so far

2005-08-09 Wish List

Have you checked out my wish list lately? Not that I expect anyone to buy anything but if you are really bored and are wondering what I am in to, check it out!

0 comments so far

2005-08-09 People and Things That Piss Me Off

Sales people who have no knowledge of the product they are selling.

Automated phone systems...press 1 for this 2 for that, give me a human being please, thankyouverymuch.

People who drive faster than I do.

People who drive slower than I do.

People who talk during movies.

People who can't take hints.

Insurance companies.

Improper use of pronouns.


0 comments so far

2005-08-09 Kindergarten

I should be finding out this week where Katherine is going to be attending kindergarten(there are two possibilities in town...School Street or Lynch). I am sort of hoping for School Street (it's smaller which always seems like a good thing to me) but either way will be fine.

I am so happy with the town of Middleboro but the one thing I do miss about living in Plymouth is The Oak Street Kindergarten. It was over 100 years old and there were only two classrooms in the entire building. There was a very homey, rustic feel about the place and the smallness of it was fantastic. The other good thing was that kindergarten students were only on the bus with other kindergarten students. In Middleboro, Katherine will be riding the bus with students all the way up to 5th grade!

She is starting to get get both nervous and excited about the whole thing. She keeps telling me she wants to stay honme with me because we are "best buddies" and she will miss me. Five minutes later she says something like, "I can't wait to meet my new friends." Mixed feelings are normal I suppose...I have them too! On the one hand I am feeling incredibly old and am going to miss spending my days with her, on the other, I am excited and looking forward to her starting this new chapter in her life.

And on a completely random note, she officially has no front teeth...on the bottom or the top!

0 comments so far

2005-08-09 Camping In The Yard

We have decided to have our "camping in the yard" weekend from August 26th-28th. We have a party to attend this weekend and Ryun is on call the next.

I have been busy thinking of exciting things to do while we are "living in the yard." I think we are going to paint rocks (Emily and Katherine love painting) and have a scavenger hunt, as well as explore the woods out behind the tracks a little. We drove out over the tracks once and found a really cool place to picnic so we may do that too.

Of course, because no camping trip would be complete without it, Ryun will be building a campfire over which we will roast marshmellows and make s'mores.

I am still trying to come up with some other ideas of what to do (games, crafts etc) so, if you have any, feel free to comment!

0 comments so far

2005-08-09 Keys












The Keys to Your Heart



You are attracted to good manners and elegance.

In love, you feel the most alive when your lover is creative and never lets you feel bored.

You'd like to your lover to think you are loyal and faithful... that you'll never change.

You would be forced to break up with someone who was emotional, moody, and difficult to please.

Your ideal relationship is comforting. You crave a relationship where you always feel warmth and love.

Your risk of cheating is zero. You care about society and morality. You would never break a commitment.

You think of marriage as something precious. You'll treasure marriage and treat it as sacred.

In this moment, you think of love as something you can get or discard anytime. You're feeling self centered.


0 comments so far

2005-08-08 Appointments and Clubs

I called Katherine's endocrinologist today and they are booking out until October! Yikes! I also found out that he doesn't travel to New Bedford anymore (apparently not enough people were making the trip worth it for him) which means I will have to drive to Waltham. Yuck. Her appointment is not until 10:45 though so I should be okay traffic wise. Her last appointment there was at 9am which was SO.NOT.FUN. Her endocrinologist is known world wide though, and is worth the trip.


I am waiting to hear back from the allergist.

I have been thinking a lot about what exactly I am going to do with myself when Emily and Katherine go back to school. I mean, I will have Julia here of course, but I am thinking that I am going to join a mom's group or something, just to get me out of the house some. They are going to be gone all day (they get on the bus at 8 and don't get home til 4) and I am pretty sure I will go crazy if I spend everyday at home. So, I am looking in to a few things, one being The Middleboro MOMS Club. I thnk it could be fun for both Julia and I but, lately, I have been having a hard time being around other babies. It's hard to watch a child who is crawling or walking, knowing that Julia can't do those things yet. On the flip side, the people at EI have said that having her around other walking babies might help her get on board with the whole thing. So, I will probably suck it up and do it, for her sake...and mine. I feel like I need more of a social network in Middleboro and joining the MOMS Club would certainly be the way to get that.

Our lazy day at home has been nice so far. I am going to get in gear and get a few things done though. I feel like a schmuck just sitting around!

0 comments so far

2005-08-07 Zombie-Like

I haven't been keeping up with blogging as much as I would like to but, I have this new found thing called "motivation" which has inspired me to get my but out of the computer chair...and...gasp...out of the house.

It has been nice to get out more and feeling better than I generally have is always a good thing. But damn.

I am practically a walking zombie tonight. I haven't been spending much time at home over the past week or so and I have basically had the kids with me 24/7. Ryun has been working and fixing his car so I have been trucking them to an fro for the better part of the week...to VBS...to my parents pool...to the Burtwood show today...out to icecream etc. etc. etc. Good lord, I just love them to pieces, but I am just ready for a break. Kids are hard work, yo.

An-y-way, it's nice to be home tonight and I am looking forward to a lazy day at home tomorrow. I have some house work to do but, not much.

Maybe we'll even stay in our PJ's all day! Woohoo!

0 comments so far

2005-08-07 Hell Frozen

I think hell may have frozen over. Ryun actually updated!

0 comments so far

2005-08-07 Give Peace A Chance


You are nurturing, kind, and lucky.
Like mother nature, you want to help everyone.
You are good at keeping secrets and tend to be secretive.

A seeker of harmony, you are a natural peacemaker.
You are good natured and people enjoy your company.
You put people at ease and make them feel at home with you.



0 comments so far

2005-08-07 Communication is key

Your Hidden Talent
You are a great communicator. You have a real way with words.
You're never at a loss to explain what you mean or how you feel.
People find it easy to empathize with you, no matter what your situation.
When you're up, you make everyone happy. But when you're down, everyone suffers.


0 comments so far

2005-08-07 And Again...

Pirate Monkey's Harry Potter Personality Quiz
Harry Potter Personality Quiz
by Pirate Monkeys Inc.

Via Accidental Verbosity

0 comments so far

2005-08-07 Just Because I Have Nothing More Exciting To Share

How You Life Your Life

You have a good sense of self control and hate to show weakness.

You are always tactful and diplomatic. You let people down gently.

Your friends tend to be a as quirky as you are - which is saying a lot!

You tend to always dream of things within reach - and you usually get them.


Via Accidental Verbosity

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits