" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2005-06-21 Snakes

Question: Who is the bravest person you know? Why?

"My Dad, because he is not afraid of snakes."

Emily's response on a question and answer sheet she brought home from school today.

0 comments so far

2005-06-21 Summer Plans

Just because I feel like it, I am going to share with you all our plans for the summer.

Appropriate don't you think, seeing as this is the first day of summer?

We're going to start the summer off with a bang...and I do mean that quite literally..by attending the fireworks on June 29 at the playground in Middleborough. Every year, the town sponsers a carnival and fireworks on Independence weekend, starting the Wednesday before, which this year also happens to coincide with two other important events...Emily's last day of second grade and the anniversary of her first seizure.

On Friday July 1st, we leave for Cape Cod, and won't be returning until Friday July 8. I am looking forward to this in so many ways, I can't even begin to tell you. On July 9, we have the first of the two weddings we have during July.

Beginning on Monday July 11 and Friday July 15, and for every consecutive Monday and Friday thereafter until Aug 12, I am planning on taking the kids to "Library In The Park" and "Brown Bag Books." Library in the park meets on Monday's at Pierce Playground from 9-12. The children's librarian meets in the park, reads a story, and helps the children create a craft that is in some way related to the story she has just read. They will alos have storytellers come and other special guests. Brown Bag Books, another event sponsored by the public library, will take place at various locations throughout the town on Friday's. We will bring a lunch, meet the librarian at the pre-determined location, and she will read a story to the kids. Ocean Spray provides beverages free of charge. These programs are held every summer,and include the parents. I think that it will be a fun way to spend time with the kids.

From July 19-21, Emily and Katherine will be taking part in the summer classes held at The Soule Homestead. They will go from 10-1 each day, and will participate in a variety of activities, including feeding the animals, educational crafts, and gardening. Both Emily and Katherine participated in field trips here during the school year and absolutely loved it, so they are really looking forward to this.

Julia turns a year old on July 22, and I am pretty sure we will be having her party sometime on Saturday the 23rd or Sunday the 24th.

On July 27, I am going to take the kids to see "Shrek 2" at the cinema right down the street. The tickets are $3.00 at the door and there will be an hour of entertainment before the show begins(mental note to self: rent Shrek 1 sometime before this...kids have seen it but I haven't). We are going to see one or two more shows during the month of August, for the same reduced rate. They call it "Camp Flagship" or something like that, which is why the rate is so cheap and the shows are so early(10:00).

On the 30th, we will be attending the second of the two weddings we have, and the 31st is my sister Suzanne's birthday.

Beginning on August 1st, Emily and Katherine will be attending Vacation Bible School, from 9-12. Although I was a little hesitant about it when they went two years ago (my vision of bible school was of a bunch of born again christians trying to instill their "way" in to my children and nothing against that, but yeah, it was just not my thing) they ended up going and had a marvelous time. They didn't have it last year for some reason but it's back again and they are very excited. VBS lasts for the week, ending on Friday, August 5th.

I think I am going to take them to the zoo on either Wednesday the 10th or Wednesday the 24th. I have been wanting to go to this zoo since I heard about it's existence and I know that the kids will love it.

On Monday, August 17th, we are going to go to the Awards ceremony for the summer reading program at the library(which they will also be taking part in). They will have a clown there and will get their awards based on the amount of reading they have done ocer the summer.

On Wednesday the 17th, we are going to go to "Camp Flagship" and see "Stuart Little 1". I love that movie and I don't know if the kids have ever seen it.

On the weekend of the 19th or the 24th (weather depending) we are going to camp out in the yard. I mentioned this to the kids and they almost exploded with excitement. We are going to the cape for the week so we really can't afford to do both that and a week long camping trip. This will more than make up for that though. We are going to pitch the tent, cook outside, make s'mores over the camp fire, tell scary ghost stories after dark...the whole thing. I love camping. We will definitely be resuming our week long excursions next summer.

Finally, sometime on Labor Day weekend, we are going to finish off the summer the same way we did last year...by spending the day picnicing at Bourne Scenic Park. We had such a nice time last Labor Day weekend doing that exact same thing.

On the days where we don't have anything planned (and believe me there are quite a few even though it may not seem like it) we will chill at home, play in the yard, or perhaps venture over to Mimi and Papa's pool for the day.

Although I welcome the end of the school year with open arms, I am not the type of person who can sit around all day doing nothing, at least not with out boredom /depression setting in. Emily too. She especially needs a bit more structure then the average person. I have no doubt that it may well be a tiring summer with all of this on our plate but that's ok. Every ounce of tiredness I may feel will be worth it. I get to spend the entire summer with my family, and there just isn't any other way I'd rather spend my time!

1 comments so far

2005-06-21 Julia

I went upstairs earlier to get Julia out of her crib and guess what?

SHE WAS KNEELING IN HER CRIB!

Like really, really kneeling.

It seems a little silly to be so excited but this is a big thing.

The other day I think she might have gone from a sitting position to her belly but I can't be sure. I think I put her in a sitting position, but I am not sure. Anyway, when I turned around, she was on her belly.

YAY for Julia!

0 comments so far

2005-06-21 Three Things

THREE NAMES YOU GO BY:
1.) Mom/Mama
2.) Sharon
3.) Shazzy

THREE PHYSICAL THINGS YOU LIKE ABOUT YOURSELF:
1.) my hair
2.) my eyes
3.) that's it

THREE PHYSICAL THINGS YOU DON'T LIKE ABOUT YOURSELF:
1.) feet...just cuz I hate feet in general
2.) can't think of
3.) anything else

THREE PARTS OF YOUR HERITAGE:
1.) Irish
2.) French Canadian
3.) American

THREE THINGS THAT SCARE YOU:
1.) bugs
2.) anything that threatens my kids happiness or well being
3.) dying before I get a chance to meet my great grandchildren

THREE OF YOUR EVERYDAY ESSENTIALS:
1.) Emily
2.) Katherine
3.) Julia

THREE THINGS YOU ARE WEARING RIGHT NOW:
1.) Underwear
2.) shorts
3.) t shirt


THREE THINGS YOU WANT IN A RELATIONSHIP:
1.) Comedy. No really. He needs a good sense of humor. I love to laugh.
2.) Love
3.) Snuggliness

TWO TRUTHS AND A LIE (in no particular order):
1.) I'm tired
2.) I'm thirsty
3.) I'm a secret agent

THREE PHYSICAL THINGS ABOUT THE APPROPRIATE SEX THAT APPEAL TO YOU:
1.) Eyes
2.) Smile
3.) Body

THREE OF YOUR FAVORITE HOBBIES:
1.) scrapbooking
2.) reading
3.) Hanging out with my family


THREE CAREERS YOU'RE CONSIDERING:
1.) Motherhood
2.) Motherhood
3.) Motherhood

THREE PLACES YOU WANT TO GO ON VACATION:
1.) Australia
2.) Italy
3.) England

THREE KID'S NAMES YOU LIKE:
1.) Emily Terese
2.) Katherine Elizabeth
3.) Julia May

THREE THINGS YOU WANT TO DO BEFORE YOU DIE:
1.) meet my great grandchildren
2.) learn a foreign language
3.) Travel to Ireland

THREE WAYS THAT YOU ARE STEREOTYPICALLY A BOY:
1.) I could care less about girly things - dresses/makeup
2.) I like action movies
3.) Thats all I can think of

THREE WAYS THAT YOU ARE STEREOTYPICALLY A CHICK:
1.) I'm a mom
2.) I love chick flicks
3.) I like to bake

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits