" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2005-06-15 One of the many "mom" type things I do

I have labeled a file folder, "Kid Ideas." Everytime I read an article in a magazine or online that has an idea in it that I think would be fun to try with the kids at some point, I tear it out or print it, and put in in this file. Whenever I draw a blank on "what to do next" I pull out the folder, and pick a project to do with them. The folder contains all sorts of ideas...from crafts...to cooking...to games. I assemble whatever supplies we will need, or make a note to purchase them if I don't have them on hand. I save all kinds of household items that would make good craft supplies or game accesories such as egg crates, toiletpaper rolls, papertowel rolls, plastic deli containers, oatmeal containers, shoe boxes etc. so I usually don't have to spend any "extra" money. The kids love having different ideas and things to do and I love the convenience of not having to come up with something myself!

0 comments so far

2005-06-15 Growing Up Forever And Ever

Katherine has another loose tooth! She has lost one, has one that is going to come out any day, and now another one loose in the bottom row.

Can we say "growing up way to fast?"

The other day she asked me if we would be best buddies "forever and ever til we die, even if I give you the sneezes?"

I said, "Yes, we can be best buddies forever and ever until we die, even if you give me the sneezes and the coughs."

Man am I going to miss spending my days with her when she goes to kindergarten next year.

0 comments so far

2005-06-15 Lucky Mom

Katherine just asked me to make lunch for her. I told her I would and then said that after lunch, we were going to do some papers together(I bought a workbook for children entering kindergarten so that they can practice over the summer, we have been doing a couple of papers each day). Her response?

"But Mama, we already did some papers yesterday, and I don't have any more stage or kindergarten fright."

Sometimes, when I think about all of the "yucky" things that are going on right now in my life (worrying about Julia and Emily mostly) I can't help but reflect on how lucky I am and how, no matter what is going on, I can always count on my kids for a good laugh or two. Seriously, I am the luckiest Mom in the world.

0 comments so far

2005-06-15 Waiting Room Humor

I had to take Emily to the doctor yesterday. About a week ago, she dropped a jewelry box on her toe, and the corner of the box landed right on the edge of her toe nail and broke it (the nail, not her toe). We had been keeping a bandaid with neosporin on it but it still got infected looking. When it got a red and swollen looking, and the poor kid started limping, I decided it was time to take her in. She is now on Zithromax. The doctor was originally going to prescribe something else, but it was a medicine that was closely related to Rocephin which she is allergic to, so they went with the Zithromax.

Anyway, that was a big lead in, when all I really meant to say was this. While we were in the room waiting for the doctor to come in, Emily was looking for the interlocking blocks that Doctor B. has had in the office since I was a kid. She had trouble finding them at first but when she did she exclaimed, "Ah here they are. No doctor's office would be complete without these."


I am telling you right now, the kid should be a comedian.

0 comments so far

2005-06-15 The best part of waking up...is Dunkin's in your cup!

Nothing and I mean nothing starts the morning off right like a hot cup of Dunkin Donuts coffee.

No matter how hard I try, I can't ever seem to make it myself and have it taste as good. Even buying Dunkin Donuts coffee doesn't seem to work.

I had errands to run this morning, which gave me a very good excuse to go out and get a cup. I haven't quite gotten to the point of going out specifically for coffee, but if I can't get Dunkin's I just skip it all together. Thankfully, since I have started drinking it on a more regular basis, I haven't become one of those who "can't live without it." I can get by just fine with a tall glass of OJ.

Anyway, I just wrote an entire entry about coffee. How weird.

1 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits