" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2005-05-31 Emily

Emily will be eight tomorrow! Eight! Where does the time go?

It's beyond the realm of possibility that almost 9 years have gone by since I first found out I was pregnant, that 5 years have gone by since she started preschool, 3 since she started kindergarten, 1 since she was diagnosed with a seizure disorder.

Wasn't that all just last week?

Emily has always held (and always will) a special place in my heart. She made me what I am today...a mother. She (and her sisters) have provided me with the most fabulous and fulfilling "job" in the world, and I can't imagine anything I would rather do.

Emily has certainly shown her strength and courage over the past year. Imagine being a perfectly healthy child one day and waking up from a seizure in an ambulance the next? Imagine all the blood work, a catscan, an MRI, an overnight hospital stay in Boston at Children's, the medicine changes. Imagine you were only 7 years old when you had to go through all of that. Through it all, Emily remained positive and strong, never once complaining or crying about any of it. She even managed to fall asleep during her MRI, and joked around with the myriad of doctors that wre surrounding her during the beginning stages of diagnosis.

She is probably the strongest person I know!

Emily has such a sense of humor. She says something that makes me laugh out loud everyday, sometimes more than once.

She is so thoughtful and considerate of her sisters. She shares her toys, rubs Katherine's back at night when she has a bad dream, and will do just about anything to make Julia happy.

Emily helps out around the house like no kid I have ever seen. She loves to help out folding laundry, and particularly enjoys cooking.

She pushes every button, and is stubborn like her Dad, but you know what? Those things just make her who and what she is.

She is Emily...my firstborn, my daughter, my friend.

Happy Birthday my sweet baby girl!

Emily, 11 months

Emily, 8 years (well, just about!)

0 comments so far

2005-05-31 Pics

Go check out the new pictures I posted over at Web Shots. I have added two new albums, titled "Lake Winnepesaukee" and "Scenes From The Homefront" as well as added a few pictures to Emily, Katherine and Julia's albums.

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits