" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2005-04-12 Scrapboooks By Sharon

I (finally) finished the last of the Disney scrapbooks! Next on the scrapbooking agenda is a "show" book that I can use to showcase the different page styles and other services I will offer. I have decided to expand from just doing scrapbooks to doing gift baskets and homemade cards. I have made gift baskets and cards for people in the past and taken pictures, so I will use those in the show book as well as sample layouts (wedding, baby, birthday etc).

I have been the ultimate lazy ass lately with all of this stuff but, I am suddenly feeling inspired and plan on working feverishly tonight to complete the show book. After that (tomorrow night I am hoping), I will venture over to Scrapbooks By Sharon and begin the much dreaded task of designing that page. Yuck.

I have already printed business cards, brochures, price lists, contracts etc. and have registered for a tax id etc. The "business" aspect is all ready to go. The "finishing of the odds and edns" is all that is left!

0 comments so far

2005-04-11 Coupons

Do you use coupons when you shop?

I do...when I remember to that is.

I always use coupons for baby formula(although now that Julia is getting older and drinking less, the coupons come far and few between). The expense of formula feeding alone is one very good reason among many to breastfeed. Because damn. Formula is probably the single most expensive item on my weekly shopping list, aside from meat. She has about 4 bottles a day. I can make 4 bottles from 1 container, so that's 1 container per day...at $4-6 per container (depending on where I shop),it adds up to about $35.00 per week!

I just never felt the "urge" or whatever to breastfeed. I don't regret that decision though...it was my choice to make and I made the one that best suited me.

Anyway, although I prefer to shop anywhere but Stop and Shop, they are good for their coupons. I am on their mailing list so I periodically get store coupons via mail from them. Most of the time, the coupons are for things that I will actually use which is, you know, good. Today for example, I got one for a free bottle of Stop and Shop brand apple juice. I always buy their apple juice when I shop there so it was nice to get.

I also use coupons for baby food that I get from Gerber and Beechnut. Baby food, although not quite as expensive as formula does add up. I am thinking about making some of my own baby food though, just to try something different. Anyone have any good baby food recipes?

1 comments so far

2005-04-11 Timing

Four-five hours.

The length of time it takes to clean my house, top to bottom, rather thoroughly.

Four-five minutes.

The length of time it takes to mess it up.

Somehow, this just doesn't seem right.

0 comments so far

2005-04-11 Phantom etc.

Phantom Of The Opera was just amazing. The music is just so beautiful and the actors voices...beyond words. The show would have been even more enjoyable had there not been a little kid (maybe 5 years old or so) sitting behind us saying, "I don't get this show" and "Where's the Phantom" and "I'm hungry" and and and...

Who the hell brings a small child to a a show liek Phantom? I mean it's not like The Lion King or something. There are certain things(for example, a dead body hanging from the rafters) that a kid just shouldn't see. It's not suprising that the kid didn't "get it". It's just not an appropriate show for children.

We had dinner here and it was yummy.

We arrived home at about 8 or so, and found that Ryun's sister (who came to watch the girls) had bathed Emily and Katherine and had them all ready for bed. YAY for Ryun's sister!

0 comments so far

2005-04-11 Adventures In Mouse Hunting

Last night Ryun heard a noise in my closet. He went in and found the mouse climbing the wall and hoping up on to the top shelf of my closet. My closet, which incidently used to be a bathroom before they added on to the house and put a bathroom in the master bedroom, has a spot in the celing that is open, with pipes running through it. The mouse climbed in to that space. Ryun proceeded to tape it off with packing tape, but not before he put peanutbutter laced with dish liquid on top of the tape. Apparently, he had seen peanutbutter used by exterminators on tv or something so he knew to use it...just another one of those "things" that he remembers. The mouse ate it, and, well I am assuming he is dead. Assuming and hoping. So tonight, when Ryun gets home he is going to pull the tape down and look for the mouse.

Oddly enough, just yesterday asked Ryun if chances were good that the mouse was gone and not in my closet anymore(I don't use my closet much...most of my clothes are folded in my drawers and just the "fancy" stuff is hanging). He thought for sure that there was no way he would still be in there so I ventured in and took out the skirt that I wanted to wear to Phantom.

I probably would have let out a scream that would have shattered the glass windows had I actually seen the mouse. I didn't though and now, lets hope, he's dead.


1 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits