" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2005-04-10 Like a good neighbor...

Ryun is there.

Yesterday, the kids were outside playing and Ryun was outside doing...doing whatever he does when he goes in to that gagrage. The kids come screaming in to the house yelling, "COME OUTSIDE RIGHT NOW! YOU'RE NOT GOING TO BELIEVE THIS!"

I run out after them, all the while thinking that either something was drastically wrong with someone or something or that there was some hugely amazing thing I was going to see.

What did I see?

Two 4 wheelers in our driveway.

Apparently, one of the drivers hit the tracks the wrong way and got a flat. Ryun busted out the compressor his grandfather gave him, pumped it up, found a hole, and patched it for him.

This mind you, was the most exciting thing since...since I don't even know what.

Heh.

Anyway, our dinner plans were cancelled so we ended up ordering food from American Pizza. I went out after dinner to get a few things to put together a care package for a friend of Emily and Katherine who is having her tonsils and adenoids out on Monday.

Wanna see?

Pretty isn't it? I basically packed an arts and crafts basket full of such things like markers, paint, glue etc. I am sure she will love it!

0 comments so far

2005-04-08 Expensive Juice

Today was picture day for Katherine. This year, they allowed siblings to come in and have their pictures done as well, so I brought Julia to have her 9 month pictures taken. Technically, she won't be 9 months for a couple more weeks, but close enough. The pictures came out great. Digital photography is such a wonderful thing.

I also went food shopping and spent $242.16. Is that alot for a family of 5? I don't know. I spent just under $200 last week though too.

I haven't purchased juice boxes in close to a year I think. Damn! I forgot how expensive those suckers were. Last year, the doctor had concerns about Katherine's weight(she gained 11 lbs. in a year's time which was about 6-7 lbs. more than she should have) so I cut out juice boxes, switched to skim milk, and went to diet soda...for the occasional time when I allow any soda. Just those small changes made a huge difference. She went for her 5 year check up in January, and only gained the 4 lbs that she should have in a years' time. Anyway, I bought the juice boxes for my party at CCD tomorrow (last class).

I also went and bought my kids...er...my students that is...small prayer cards and prayer books as an "end of the year, congrats on making your first communion" present. I am going to make cupcakes tonight too.

I don't really know how much I will be aroudn all weekend. We have CCD and spring cleaning planned for tomorrow, dinner plans tomorrow night, and Phantom Of The Opera on Sunday.

2 comments so far

2005-04-08 Is This Normal?

Emily was getting undressed yesterday(changing from school to play clothes so she could go outside) and this is what she said.

"Mom, do I look fat?"

"WHAT?"

"Do I look fat?"

"No why?"

"I just think that my thighs look fat right here."

"You look beautiful Emily."


Have I not said how fearful I am of the teenage years with her?

She is 7 people, 7!

I am going to earn my stripes with her let me tell you.

0 comments so far

2005-04-07 Random Observations

1. Nothing ever spills on my floor until after I have just washed it, usually immediately after.

2. Julia never has a "dirty" diaper until after I have just changed her in to a fresh one.

Murphy's Law.

Whatever the hell that is anyway.

0 comments so far

2005-04-07 A Quick List

Things I Will Be doing Today That WIll Prevent Me From Updating!

1. Putting baby's clean laundry away.

2. Organizing clothes that are too small into piles by size, boxing up.

3. Checking out the vacuum to get the part number Ryun needs so that he can get a new belt.

4. Taking Katherine and Julia outside to play.

5. And a bunch of other random things.

0 comments so far

2005-04-06 Spring

Now that spring has arrived, I am getting anxious for the lazy days of summer. I don't want the heat...just the lack of a schedule! It seems like every year around this time, I get "tired" of transporting kids to and fro, getting up, getting ready and getting out the door, and just the general "hecticness" that is the school year. It's nice to be carefree and lazy sometimes!

Speaking of springs arrival...the ducks are back! I am going to try my damdest to get pictures this year. Last spring I was pregnant, and not at all thrilled with the idea of trampling through the bog or the woods to get close enough.

Unfortunately, the arrival of spring also means the need to get out spring clothing has arisen...which means more laundry...and just yuck.

0 comments so far

2005-04-05 Julia

Julia is getting teeth...finally! Unfortunately, I think she is making up for not getting any until she is almost 9 months old by possibly getting four in a row. Yikes.

We can see them just below her gumline...two on the top and two on the bottom. The bottom two look like they will be breaking though at any given moment, the top ones are still a little further up.

She is old enough to be having certain finger foods such as Cheerios but I was a little nervous about giving them to her because she had nothing to chew them with. Mashing them with her gums only works to a certain degree.


Thankfully, she never managed to get strep throat from Emily or Katherine. They have both been on medication for almost a week now, so I think (and God I hope I didn't just jinx myself) that she is in the clear.

Everyone, and I mean everyone comments on what a happy baby she is. She is always smiling, even at complete strangers, and quite freqently at herself. Both Emily and Katherine were happy babies, but Julia wins the award. She is just so happy and I am so lucky.

2 comments so far

2005-04-05 Pirate

What kind of pirate am I? You decide!
You can also view a breakdown of results or put one of these on your own page!
Brought to you by Rum and Monkey

0 comments so far

2005-04-05 FIRED Felines

My cats are fired. Okay? FIRED!

Ryun came in this morning to kiss me goodbye and said, "Sharon, let the cats up sometime today."

"Okay, why?"

"There was a mouse running around in the living room. It just ran into your closet and I can't find it."

I thought he was joking.

"I'm sorry, what did you just say?"

"There was a mouse running around in the living room. It just ran into your closet and I can't find it."

"Are you serious?"

"Yes, I am. I just took everything out of your closet but I can't find it, so just let the cats up, okay?"

"They are soooo fired. They're...they're dogs or something. Hell even a freakin' dog would have caught that mouse."

"They've let up one mouse in two years."

"Yeah?"

"It's more scared of you than you are of it."

"I seriously doubt that. Did you leave everything out of my closet?"

"No, I put it all back in but if you want you can empty it when you get up."

"Yeah right, did you forget who you were talking to there for a minute? This is me."

"Just go back to sleep and I will see you when I get home."

I tried.

And every little teensy weensy noise I heard was the mouse. Or at least I thought it was.

I will let the cats up and damn them, they better catch that mouse. Then maybe, just maybe I will let them have their job back!

0 comments so far

2005-04-04 Not that I am ever drunk but...

Philosophical Drunk
What Kind of Drunk Are You?
Brought to you by Rum and Monkey


Via Acidman

0 comments so far

2005-04-04 Busy

Seriously, I have the cutest kids in the world.

I took the new picture today while we were all outside enjoying the nice weather.

I haven't updated in a few days...we had a busy weekend as usual. I don't think we did anything on Friday but Saturday we had CCD in the morning, and then I went with Julia to lunch with my sister and our mutual friend. Later that evening Suzanne, Heather and I went to see The Upside Of Anger. It was pretty good and I do like Kevin Costner.

Sunday we went over to my parents to visit with my aunt who is here from California. We had dinner with the fam and then came home.

After Katherine got out of preschool today my aunt and I took the kids (She has a four year old son) over to Scalliwags (an indoor playgruond for kids). They had a blast (even Julia loved watching the kids play. We went to lunch at Friendly's (which my aunt loves and never gets to go because there aren't any in Cali).

So yeah, I was busy.

1 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits