" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2005-02-15 Computer All Set

Emily and Katherine finally have a computer all set up in their bedroom. My sister got a new one so she gave her old one(just a couple of years old I think) to us. They of course do not have the internet on it...they will just use it for their games, which will free up some space on this computer, which will be a good thing.

I do plan on limiting their computer use, the same way I do with their tv viewing, even though virtually every game they have is educational. Still, I am a firm believer in having my children involved in activities not centered around electronic devices, so the time will be limited in one way or another.

Anyway, they are very excited about having it all set to go. Katherine is up there right now using her Jump Start Preschool game. I can hear her laughing her head off at whichever activity she is using.

0 comments so far

2005-02-15 Pajamas!

I firmly believe in wearing pajamas all day long if you have no place to go. I have even left the house in my PJ's on occasion for a quick run to the store or something.

Pajamas are just so comfy, you know? When shopping I actually have to mentally restrain myself from buying more. It's sort of an addiction I guess.

What about you? Pajamas all day?

1 comments so far

2005-02-15 Valentine's Day review.

Oh yeah, Valentine's Day was yesterday wasn't it? As you can see, the holiday doesn't hold much esteem for me, but I did use it as an excuse to cook a nice dinner on Sunday(Monday Ryun has poker and who am I to invade those plans? He did offer not to go but I told him to go...it is only Valentine's Day...not something I consider to be really significant).

Anyway I made Chicken Parm which came out very good and an Apple Crisp for desert. I set the table with some cute Valentine's paper goods and heart shaped lace doilies leftover from our homemade Valentine's. The kids thought it was fabulous. They really love stuff like that, and so do I. Quality time with the fam...just rocks.

I bought a bunch of little Valentine's type trinkets for the kids(pencils, erasers, tic tac toe things etc. and put them in white plastic buckets that had heart shapes cut out in them. Jules got a new teething toy, a rattle with a heart on it and a little stuffed bug that moves around when you pull his tail. Ryun and I typically don't do presents, just cards. He forgot cards though and instead bought me this.Isn't he just the cutest? Even more shocking, he said he would watch it with me on Friday night. It is a sappy love story, not his typical movie choice. But yeah, I was happy.

0 comments so far

2005-02-15 HTML Sucks!

Does anyone out there want to design a website for me, you know, free of charge? Heh. I have been redoing my business website now for months so I can officially launch and whatnot but damn it is just so frustrating. I hate HTML with a passion beyond words. One tinsy, weensy little mistake can srew the whole thing up. I should probably try and learn some other website design language or whatever it's called. Is HTML the most frustrating? Anyone know?

3 comments so far

2005-02-15 Hypoglycemic?

Thankfully, Julia had a much better night sleeping, and I actually got a full 6 hours before she woke at 4 crying.

I am glad she is feeling better(fever is gone, cough is still there and she is losing her voice but overall) but something new has come up that has me a little concerned.

She has the same fruity, medicinal smell to her breath that Katherine has when she is having a hypoglycemic attack. This is a little wierd because even though she has been sick, Julia's appetite has basically been fine and she has been eating almost as much as she normally does. She might have skipped a cereal feeding here or there but overall, her appetite has been fine. So, in an attempt to assure myself that she was in fact ok, I used Katherine's blood sugar meter thingy last night and tested Julia's. God that is so not a fun thing to do to an infant...Katherine is so over the finger prick she doesn't even flinch when I have to test her, let alone cry. Julia on the otherhand....
Anyway, it was normal...at least I am pretty sure it was anyway. Her reading was 96, which for a child or an adult would be fine. I am pretty sure a baby would be measured on the same level but I am not sure. When Katherine is having an attack, hers usually measures in the 40's somewhere, although she has exhibited symptoms when she measure's in the 60's as well.

I have a call in to the pediatrician to discuss this with him but in the mean time, does anyone out there know if a 96 reading is ok for a baby? She has the same smell on her breath again today but she is asleep right now so I can't test her. I have been trying to find out some information online but I can't seem to find anything that tells me what a normal reading would be for an infant.

Another interesting thing to point out...previous to Katherine's diagnosis, she would have that smell on her breath with no other symptoms. I used to just think it was a weird thing until the racing heart, deep breathing, sleepiness thing started accompanying the fruity breath. After a few visits to the pediatrician she was eventually sent to her endocrinologist and officially diagnosed.

Any advice or thoughts (or even medical knowledge in this field)would be greatly appreciated! :)

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits