" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2005-02-14 Poem

Julia seems to be on the mend but I am suffering from three nights of little or no sleep and can't find the energy to have something interesting to say.

So instead, I will share a poem that I found amongst my scrapbooking materials.

My Daughter�s Hand

I took my daughter by the hand�
We raced to greet the sun�
I didn�t sweep the steps today,
But I remembered how to run.

We traced the fenceline to the pond
And watched the polliwogs�
Now she knows how tadpoles
Turn into hoppy frogs.

She reached her hands up to the sky
A swallow fluttered by�
She flapped her tiny wings�
So sure that she could fly.

I didn�t wash the dishes�
My bed it went unmade,
But we saw some Easter Lilies,
And we danced and sang and played.

She watched a pretty butterfly,
Emerge from its cocoon�
My daughter�s changing also,
And growing all too soon.

You see, she is the butterfly�
A vibrant summer rose�
Her youth is such a fleeting thing,
Just like the wind that blows.

I didn�t so the laundry�
I didn�t sweep the floor,
Because my little girl needs me�
To Wander�Dream�Explore.

I didn�t clean the house today�
I didn�t sweep the stairs,
In twenty years no one will
Know or even care.

But I have helped my little girl,
To a gracious woman grow,
In twenty years the whole wide world
Will turn their heads and know.
~Patty Gout~


0 comments so far

2005-02-13 Julia

Julia is sick. I swear to God she just doesn't handle vaccines well. Now I am not one of those people who thinks that vaccines are bad, cause autism, blah blah blah. But, every single time she gets vaccinated, she gets sick. She was sickest after her 2 month vaccination (the doctor thought she may have had a bacterial infection, but it turned out to be viral), her 4 month shots left her feeling just out of sorts with a slight fever, and this time around she has a cough, a fever that has been as high as 101.2, and she has thrown up once. Ughhh. Erring on the side of caution, I called the doctor yesterday(before she threw up) and he advised giving her tylenol for the fever, and Dimetab for the cold. She has been up and crying/moaning/coughing for the better part of the past two nights. She looks flushed and tired and generally hasn't been herself overall. If she isn't better in a day or so I will bring her over to the doc's.

Even sick, she still recognizes the following equation:

camera comes out=smile like the cutie pie I am.

See?

You can see the rosy cheeks typical with a fever in this picture taken just before she fell asleep this morning.

1 comments so far

2005-02-11 Quick ?

Is it a natural occurence that when your child does something wrong, or just has something "wrong" with them (their sick or have some kind of chronic ilnness, you know, things like that)that a parent automatically accepts some guilt and thinks, "Ok, what am I doing wrong?" or "What could I be doing better?"


Just wondering.

0 comments so far

2005-02-10 Family Fun

Wanna see something?

I sent that in...and my idea was chosen and published online!

I won a prize which apparently includes the supplies needed to make the following: a Painted Apron, Holiday Pins, Kids' Art Magnets, and Kitchen Gifts.


Pretty cool huh?

0 comments so far

2005-02-10 Conversations with my parents

ME: "Are you sitting down, because what I am about to tell you may come as quite a shock."

DAD: "Yes."

ME: "There is nothing wrong with Ryun's brain."

DAD: (completely deadpan)"I think you should get a second opinion."


ME: "Ryun's MRI came back normal."

MOM: "Well, now he has no excuse for being so eccentric does he?"

Funny how well my parents seem to "understand" Ryun...ha ha ha.

And not that an MRI is anything to joke about really, but you have to find the humor somewhere in order to deal with all of this, no?

2 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits