" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2005-01-15 My (Material Things) Wish List

I added a new link on the side bar thingy to my Amazon Wish List.

I can never seem to think of anything I want when the time for gift giving comes around...Christmas, birhtday, Mother's Day etc. It always seems that I think of a million different things after the occasion has past! So I went through, typed a few search words in and created the List.

So now, if you are one of those people who needs to know what I want (ahem Ryun), you should be all set.

0 comments so far

2005-01-14 Emily

So...we got some (probably) good news and some not so good (but definitely could be worse) news at Emily's appointment in Boston today.

Let me first just say though, for anyone who drives to Boston on a regular basis at 7-8 am on a weekday, my prayers are with you. My sister Suzanne came with me and drove, thank God.

Yeah.

Ok so for the good news...she probably does not have Tuberous Sclerosis. YAY! Her MRI, which by the way, I actually saw for the first time, looks similar but is not quite the same as a person with Tuberous Sclerosis. Her MRI has now been reviewed by about 5 doctors, so I feel pretty confident that she does not have it however, the doctor did offer genetic testing(a blood draw) just to be on the safe side. We did that today while we were there, and shoud get the results next week. If it turns out that she doesn't have it, which we all suspect will be the case, then we will be done with that aspect of her treatment. If she does, she will have to undergo further testing on her heart and kidneys, which can both be affected by TS.


The not so great news is that she most definitely does have ADHD, inattentive type. Her regular neorologist said that her case is most likely medically based(due to the abnormalities seen in her MRI). I am happy to report though that he is not quick to medicate children, especially at such a young age. Obviously, the decision to medicate or not would have been ours, but I am glad that it was not the first thing he reccomended. I just have a strong feeling that in Emily's case, some small changes would beneift her more than, or at least as much as medicine would. So, he reccomended that her school, in coordination with Ryun and I develop a 504 Plan specifically tailored to meet her needs. This is very similar to an Individual Education Plan, commonly reffered to as an IEP(which is used to help children with academic or learning difficulties) but a 504 is only for children with medical concerns(such as ADHD, Diabetes etc). As you will see if you click on the above link, a 504 plan makes in classroom accomodations for children with special needs that do fine academically.

I think that Emily could and will benefit from such a plan, and am looking forward to getting it organized with her school.

As much as I knew that these would be the results of today's visits, it is nice to have a real answer...at least regarding the ADHD thing. If she does not have TS, this of course will be a good thing but, it will mean that they still won't know what is wrong.

That is just so frustrating!

Anyway, that's the update. I think I was nervous last night because I didn't sleep well and kept having the strangest dreams. So yeah, I am tired and going to bed.

G'night.

0 comments so far

2005-01-13 Italian Pork Chops

Ever feel like you eat the same old things? While tried and true recipes are always a good thing, they do get "boring" after a while.

So, I have been trying all kinds of new things lately. Last night I realized after I had defrosted the pork chops I had planned to make that I had run out of Pork Shake and Bake.

So I made this. Italian Pork Chops Chop, chop! These Italian-flavored chops are ready in minutes!

1/2 cup Original Bisquick� mix 1/3 cup Italian dressing 1/2 cup Progresso� garlic-herb dry bread crumbs 4 pork boneless loin chops, 1/2 inch thick (1 1/2 pounds) 2 tablespoons vegetable oil

1. Place Bisquick mix, dressing and bread crumbs in separate shallow bowls. Coat pork chops with Bisquick mix. Dip coated pork chops into dressing, then coat with bread crumbs.

2. Heat oil in 12-inch nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Cook pork in oil about 5 minutes or until golden brown; reduce heat to low. Carefully turn pork. Cook 10 to 15 minutes longer or until pork is no longer pink in center. Serve immediately.

No pictures this time but they came out great.

Thank God for Bisquick!

0 comments so far

2005-01-13 Interview

Ryun has an interview this morning...YAY! The company is based in Lynn(Lynn Lynn the city of sin, you never go out the way you came in) but thankfully, his line of work involves travelling to the location in which the elevator is to be installed. Of course, an installation in Lynn is always possible.

The only really "yucky" thing is that if he does get this job, most of his work would be in town(Boston for those who aren't familiar with the "in town" expression) or North. Obviously, he needs a job though so you have to take what you can get, right? Right.

Pretty much any company he works for, with the exception of a select few would involve working in Boston. Most elevators in this state are located there afterall.

So everyone, say a prayer that he gets this job, k? Thanks.

0 comments so far

2005-01-13 Middle Of The Night

Julia was up in the middle of the night for 2 hours. Actually she was up from 2-4 am, so technically it was morning I guess but yeah.

She was teething I think since she was trying to eat the comforter on our bed. She also seemed hungry so I fed her. She was happy then whining then crying then yelling. I still have no idea what was really wrong...she eventually tired her self out and fell asleep.

I am so unnacustomed to being up with a baby in the middle of the night. She slept from 12-6 about a month after we brought her home so I only had the 3 am feedings for a very short time.

So yeah, I am ready to pass out here. I felt so bad for her though...seeing her so unhappy is such an unusual thing. I am always able to figure out what she needs(food, changing, or just the "I want my Mama" cry which I tell you does exist)and I can usually figure out what it is before the small, quiet cry turns into an all out fit. I'm good like that. Last night though...nothing and I mean nothing was working.

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits