" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2004-12-31 Happy New Year

The girls(well the older 2) are so excited about New Year's Eve. They are going out for chinese with Mimi and Papa, going back to their house to watch "Princess Diaries 2, Royal Engagement" and then spending the night their. Mimi has promised both girls that she will wake them to see the ball drop. They saw the ball this morning on tv and were off the walls...practicing the countdown and everything. too cute.

Ryun and I are going to a friends party(they are taking the baby too after dinner). It should be fun...I just hope I feel ok. I still can't shke the sinus thing but medicine seems to help a little.

Anyway, in case I don't make it back to the computer again...HAPPY NEW YEAR!

0 comments so far

2004-12-30 Where the heck?

So, I basically got nothing productive done around here today...I spent the day wandering the mall aimlessly with my sister instead. I would have had something to do at the mall, a few things actually, had I not forgotten the bag in which I put the few returns we did have.

Whatever, it was fun anyway. Emily was off at her friends house so it was just Katherine, Jules, my sister and I. Which, as much as I love Emily, was nice. Malls and Emily...it just doesn't work.

It usually goes a little something like this:

"Mama can I have this?"

"Mama can I get just one of these?"

"Mama, Katherine would love this, and oh by the way, can I get one too?"

"MAMA MAMA MAMA MAMA"

You get see what I am saying.

She did have a great time at her friends though so yeah.

This was her first official "playdate" since she was diagnosed with the seizure disorder and even though she hasn't had one in months(well since mid-October) and has only ever had them upon waking, I obviously still had to tell her friend's mother. Turns out she is a medical assistant at Morton Hospital and is currently going to school to be a nurse. That was a pleasant surprise...not because I was nervous about Emily having one but because I am always afraid that people are going to be weird about it.

For some reason being epileptic tends to have some kind of a stigma attached to it which I just don't understand. I mean anyone that knows Emily would think she is (and she is!) a perfectly normal and healthy 7 year old child. It's not like you can look at her and say, "Oh yeah, she's epileptic." But once some people find out it's like, "Whoa."

To be honest, it kind of (well no not kind of, definitely) pisses me off. My daughter(who for the record is wise beyond her years) has a diagnosed medical condtion. This does not mean that she has emotional and learning disabilities as well. Close minded and assuming people just make me mad.

And I have no idea where that all came from.

This was supposed to be "I had a good day, but I feel like hell because of my cold, so I am going to bed, and hopefully will feel better in the morning" entry.

Oops.


0 comments so far

2004-12-30 Plans for the Day

The movie was good...kind of quirky but it had a lot of good one liners that made it worth seeing.

Emily is spending the afternoon at her friend Amber's house today. She is so excited! I am bringing her over at noon and Ryun will be picking her up after work.

Katherine, Julia and I are heading to the mall to make the few Christmas returns I have and to get some lunch. I plan on inviting my sister Heather to join us as she is home from college for winter break.

Other than that, at some point I will continue the post Christmas cleanup and whatever else I need to do around here.

0 comments so far

2004-12-29 Everything

Slowly but surely, the living room is beginning to resemble it's "pre-Christmas" look. I have been putting a few new toys away per day, and organizing the playroom and bedroom in the process.

I can't believe how much "stuff" they got. I mean I can because I bought 90% of it but when it's all together under the tree...the pile is/was enormous.

They have been having fun though...opening and setting up new toys each day.

Julia has been loving the Winnie The Pooh toy that my sister gave her. When you squeeze his belly, he lights up and plays music...and she can't get enough of it! The batteries are already starting to die!

Emily has been enjoying the plethora of Barbie/Bratz toys that she got, while Katherine has especially loved her Rudolph Build A Bear(err..Reindeer).

I am going out to see "Spanglish" tonight with my sisters and my mother. I am not a huge fan of Adam Sandler movies but this looks to be one of his good ones...like 50 First Dates and The Wedding Singer.

An interesting tidbit...a couple of years ago, I was at a wedding with Adam Sandler's parents...not with them but at the same wedding.

0 comments so far

2004-12-29 Baby Monitor again

This conversation captured over the monitor while Ryun was still working in Great Barrington...

Scene: first thing in the morning, Emily and Katherine's bedroom.

Emily: "Daddy came home last night, Katherine."

Katherine: "He did?"

Emily: "Yes.

Katherine: "Did he give you a big, tight hug?"

Emily: "Yes he did.

Katherine; "you are so lucky."

0 comments so far

2004-12-29 baby Monitor

The baby monitor has always been a useful tool in this house(as I am sure is the case in many houses with small children). I have recently discovered though, that is good for more than just listening for babies...it also happens to work as a "cute conversation monitor" as well.

Emily: "Want me to read you a book?"

Katherine: "No."

Emily: "You have to read books Katherine...tv doesn't teach you anything."

Katherine: "What about my Leap Pad Letters DVD? That teaches me the alphabet."

Emily: "Well, that is the only one."

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits