" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2004-12-24 Merry Merry

I have a list of people I know
All written in a book
And every year at Christmastime
I go and take a look
And that is when I realize
That those names are a part
Not of the book they're written in
But of my very heart
For each name stands for someone
Who has crossed my path some time
And in that meeting they've become
A treasured friend of mine
And once you've met some people
The years can not erase
The memory of a pleasant word
Or a friendly face
So when I send a Christmas card
That is addressed to you
It's because you're on that list
Of folk I'm indebted to
And you are one of many folk who
In times past I've met
And happen to be one of those
I don't want to forget
And whether I have known you for
Many years or few
In some way you have a part in
Shaping things I do
This, the spirit of Christmas, that
Forever and ever endures
May it leave it richest blessing
In the hearts of you and yours.

~Anonymous~

This is the poem that I sent out with this year's cards...I thought I would share it here as well. I hope that everyone has a great Holiday Season filled with the love, special times, and magic that only this time of year can bring!



0 comments so far

2004-12-24 Shopping

A brief summary of the nights' events...in list form.

1. Heather's tire is basically flat in Sharon's driveway...Ryun offers to change it...Heather says no, she'll put air in it, it will be fine, Dad's getting her a new tire tomorrow.

2. Sharon volunteers to drive...Heath says no, it will be fine.

3. Arrive at mall...wait for 2 hours for sister Suzanne(gee the traffic it's terrific) to show up...have a drink and an appetizer at Joe's.

4. Suz arrrives, eats, leave Joe's to shop.

5. Can't find what we need, decide to go down an exit to Kmart.

6. Yup..Heather's tire is completely flat. Momentarily freak, then remember that the is a Sears Auto in the mall.

7. Drive all over creation, find it, get two tires replaced(one had very bad tread).

8. Heather has no cash, Shazzy shells out the dough.

9. Try to close door of car...won't shut. We cry...well are about to anyway. Nice guy from Sears fixes it.

10. Roll window up...window roller thingy breaks off. We laugh.

11. Go to Kmart, finish shopping (11:00pm) leave. Decide to get a coffee on the way home...go to three Dunkin Donuts before we succeed(One was closed, one didn't have iced coffee(how weird is that) 3rd time's the charm as the saying goes).

12. Go to Marie and Pete's (aka Mom and Dad's) to pick up gift that Papa(aka Pete, Dad) assembled for girls.

13. Find him assembling another toy for them, so tired he can barely talk. Nice daughters help Dad, Dad loves nice daughters.
14. Arrive home at 2:00am, wrap 2 gifts, load dishwasher, type this.

15. Vow never, ever to go anywhere near a mall on December 23 again, go to sleep.

The End.

1 comments so far

2004-12-23 It's a Wrap(and a Cut)

So, I wrapped all but 6 presents last night, and the remaining six are going to get "gift-bagged" after my planned shopping trip tonight. I may have(or will tonight if I haven't already) lost my mind when I decided to go shopping with my sister at a mall on December 23. We don't get to see each other as often as we like since she and my brother-in-law decided to move to the other end of the world Haverhill, so really I am just going for the social aspect.

So yeah, I crammed myself and the 50 million things I had left to wrap in the playroom, shut the door, turned on the Christmas music and wrapped for 4 hours. I told Ryun that if we were rich, I might have hired someone else to wrap them for me(along with a personal masseuse which really has nothing to do with wrapping but whatever).

I cut my finger on the scissors while curling ribbon. It was pretty bad and actually required a band aid to stop the bleeding. Given how I feel about wrapping, I did find it rather humorous though that it was my middle finger that I cut.

Anyway, if you don't hear from me tomorrow, be sure to send out a search party. You'll find me somewhere in the maze of people known as " last minute shoppers."

0 comments so far

2004-12-22 It's a Wrap

Sharon's Plans From Now Until Christmas

1. Wrap presents.

2. Wrap presents

3. Wrap presents

4...

You get the idea. Yeah I haven't wrapped any presents. Yeah I am a slacker. Yeah I plan on wrapping in to the late hours of this evening.

3 comments so far

2004-12-22 A Quote From One Of My Favorite Books

"It is often during the worst of times that we see the best of humanity-awakening within the ordinary that which is most sublime. I do not believe that it is the circumstance that produces such greatness any more than it is the canvas that makes the artist. Adversity merely presents the surface on which we render our souls' most exacting likeness. It is in the darkest skies that stars are best seen." Richard Paul Evans, The Letter

0 comments so far

2004-12-22 Kiss or Cookie

OLD ENTRY


Tonight at dinner Emily finished her entire meal...an almost unheard of feat. Of course tonight was one of the few nights that I did not have any kind of desert to give her (the deal is if you finish dinner you can have desert). Well anyway, I had to go food shopping(which I did after the girls went to bed). After I told Emily that there really was nothing "deserty" to have she said and I quote, "I know Mama! My desert can be a kiss on the cheek from you Daddy!" I don't know of any kid in the world (or adult for that matter!) that would consider a kiss on the cheek to be equal with say, a chocolate chip cookie! I just gave her the biggest hug in the world (along with a kiss on the cheek) and told her that she was priceless. The things that come out of her mouth...lets just say she never ceases to amaze me!

NEW ENTRY

Seriously, thank God for the cuteness, huh?

0 comments so far

2004-12-22 JJ update

I have updated Julia's Journal for all of those interested parties that would like to check it out.

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits