" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2004-07-16 Seizures While Sleeping?

On two separate occasions, Emily has come down in the middle of the night saying that she has wet her pants and needs to change. Once was this morning about 4:30 or so and the other time was a few days ago, I can't remember exactly when.

Emily never wets the bed...not even when she was being potty trained at night. The first time it happened the other day I thought to myself that it was kind of odd...but I left it at that. Now it has happened again.

While I was helping her change, I asked her some questions to see if she maybe had a bladder infection...and from her answers, I am pretty sure that is not the case. She says that she wakes up wet, not that she wakes up to go and doesn't make it in time to the bathroom.

Is it possible that she could have a seizure at night and I wouldn't hear her? I think so. To be honest, the two major ones that she had, had she been in her own room, I am not entirely sure whether or not I would have heard her if she had not made the gurgling noise. So, if she has been having seizures at night, with no gurgling (or any other) noise, I think it is quite possible that I may not hear. Even the violent shaking doesn't make a heck of a lot of noise. I do have the monitor set up and it is sensitive, but I am sure that while I myself am asleep, I don't hear every little turn of her body or swish of the covers.

I am not overly concerned really, but I think it will warrant a phone call to her pediatrician, just to see what he thinks.

I am also going to start keeping a paper journal to help keep track of any symptoms I may see or questions I may have.

It would seem like a good idea to keep track of everything...for my sake and hers.

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits