" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2004-03-05 Adelphia hate part 4

A work of art if I do say so myself! Here is a copy of a letter to my direct supervisor at Adelphia.

Dear Jill,

I have been an employee of Adelphia for six years. During this time I have always done my best to represent the company and service the customers well. I am and always have been dedicated to servicing and helping my customers and fellow Customer Sales and Service Representatives alike. I am an organized, loyal, and I would like to think a well-respected and well-liked employee of this company.

The reason for this letter is the new seating plan that is currently being arranged. I have been informed (through various people) that we will again have to share desks. I am writing to let you know that I want and more importantly deserve my own desk.

Over the past six years, I have acquired a vast knowledge of all areas of the cable industry, from proper customer service standards, to technical troubleshooting, and everything in between. Because of this, as well as my easy going nature and eagerness to help, I have been given, as well as have assumed certain responsibilities normally reserved for leads or supervisors. Some of these include; inventory, dispatch, must do�s and the taking of supervisor calls. I have discussed this in previous communications with various supervisors and have even mentioned the possibility of a lead position, since I am doing the job of a lead anyway. Although I was not offered this type of position, nor did I feel I was properly thanked for my help, I have continued to take on these �extra� duties and, have done so willingly. Truth be told, I like helping people and feel a sense of pride when I am given the opportunity to do so. That being said however, I have not been compensated in anyway for this, whether it be monetarily or a simple, �Thank you for all of your hard work, we really appreciate you.� I do not do what I do for money or recognition. I do it because I want to, however, part of me does feel that I should be in some way recognized for my efforts. After giving this some serious consideration, I came to the conclusion that if I was not to be recognized in any way for me help, the decision to do so would need to be based on my willingness alone. In other words, since I knew in advance of my offering help that nothing would come it (other than the satisfaction of helping and perhaps a thank you from the person on the receiving end), I would have to decide whether or not I wanted to continue. As you and those I have offered my assistance to know, I decided in favor of continuing.

The least I deserve for my efforts is my own workspace. I know that I am a part time employee but, that makes me no less important that a full timer, nor is it any excuse for me not to have my own desk. In my six years of service to this company and more recently my six months of assuming the role of a lead, I have earned the right to my own desk. That aside, if it is at all important to maintain peace and harmony within the department, sharing desks is not the way to achieve that. I am quite sure I am not the only Customer Sales and Service Representative that feels that way. It is a well known fact that people work more efficiently and with more enthusiasm if they have a place to call there own. For that reason alone, the plan to have some employees share desks should be reconsidered and reworked.

In closing, I would like to tell you that I know that your job can not be easy. Recognizing the sixty or so different personalities, wants and needs of this department is difficult. Making everyone happy and maintaining a positive environment is no easy task. Because of this, I feel any input you get from Customer Sales and Service Representatives helps in achieving that goal. That is why I wrote this letter, so that you may better understand how I feel.

I look forward to your response.

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits