" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2004-03-03 Boiler Clog

Last night, when I walked in the door (after leaving one of my last nights ever of work..YAY!) I smelled gas. It wasn't really strong in the foyer but, as I walked toward the kitchen and down the hall, it got worse. I opened the cellar door, and almost passed out the smell was so strong. I immediately woke Ryun and had him check the pilot to make sure it wasn't out and to check the tank and make sure it was empty or close to empty. Neither was the case, so I immediately called the gas company. They came out at about 12:30 am and said that the boiler was clogged and that he would be back out tomorrow first thing to fix it. He shut the heat off and left, after assuring me that since it was off, it was perfectly safe to be there. I was concerned mostly about inhaling the fumes but also about...well about it exploding or something.

They came at 7:10 this morning and fixed it.

I slept horribly all night though...I couldn't stop thinking about all of those people you read about dying in their sleep or houses exploding etc. I am normally not that paranoid but if you smelled the gas and how strong it was....

You may have worried too.

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits