" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2004-03-05 Adelphia Hate part 1

Me and my darn letters. As most of you already know, I work for Adelphia Communications in Plymouth, MA. I have been there for 5 1/2 years. I do like my job; that is I like the people I work with and I like the work I do. The only real problem I have is that for the past five months, I have been doing the job of a supervisor without any additional pay or even any appreciation. I have taken supervisor calls, forced trouble calls in the system by doing what is referred to as a "must-do", handled dispatch, have inventory codes and training, something that is usually reserved for a supervisor or lead, and have been left "in charge" by various supervisors when they leave. After five months, I decided that I felt taken advantadge of and unappreciated, so I wrote a letter to two of my direct supervisors. I also addressed issues such as overnight staff having just as much right to vacation and sick time as the day people and, how when someone is absent(for whatever reason) from their ovrnight shift, their shift needs to be filled. There was one occasion where someone was on a scheduled vacation day and someone else called in. As a result, I had to work from 4:30PM Saturday until 8:00AM Sunday...a fifteen hour overnight shift. On many other occasions, we have been left short handed. Anyway,the letter was very kind and professional...I presented the problems and offered possible solutions, as well as had a face to face follow-up indicating that I was willing to help in whatever way I could. Not to brag or toot my own horn, but I write a pretty good letter and usually, I see some results. Unfortunately, other than a compliment on my letter writing skills, I saw nothing, not even so much as a thank you for what you do etc. I was shocked to say the least. Aside from doing the job of a supervisor and deserving to be paid like one, I at the very least thought I would get a little appreciation. So, now, I am at somewhat of a crossroads. I am tempted to just stop...stop doing everything that I do and let them see just how much they need me. However, being the helpful and kind person that I am, I feel bad leaving my fellow employees and the customers in a lurch, especially, knowing full well that I am able to help. But really, why should I continue if I am not going to get even the slightest amount of aprreciation (other than from my fellow CSSR's)? In my mind, I deserve the money, but in my heart, I just want a little recognition. Thats all, and I really don't think that is too much to ask. Sometimes I feel that part of this is my fault. For those of you who know me and know me well, you know that I am very easy-going, very willing to help, and very forgiving. Soemtimes, I think that these traits are good ones...at times like this though, I feel like I should be a little more aggressive, or rather assertive. I feel like I am being walked all over, like they just assume that, "Sharon's here so I can leave and feel comfortable knowing things will go well." I guess it is a good thing that they have confidence in me and my abilities but I really feel that I deserve more than that. I am still not sure what to do so I will have to continue to think about it and see which path I feel will lead in the right direction...if there is one.

1 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits