" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2003-12-30 hunting in my backyard

As you can plainly see, I got rid of the Christmas theme and went with the winter theme that is currently displaying. Looks good, no?

So, we have decided to go to Ryun's uncle's for New Year's Eve. We are going to have chinese food and ring the new year in there. We are looking forward to it and it will be nice to spend some time with the sane and normal members of his family.

Something that has been bugging me but I keep forgetting to mention...there have been hunters for all intents and purposes in my backyard. Well, the traintracks really...but those are my backyard. I had heard a couple of gunshots one day so, I decided to go out and investigate. Stupid, I know. Well anyway, I looked down the tracks and saw a bunch of people in orange with guns slung over their backs. I couldn't believe it. I mean, I could beleive it because...well...I live in the middle of nowhere and there are miles upon miles of woods. But I couldn't believe that they could hunt that close to a house. So me being me, I investigated. I called the Massachusetts Department of Fish and Game and got the lowdown on the law. Apparently, as long as they are at least 500 feet away, it's ok. 500 feet seems way the hell to close to me. I have children...not that I ever let them go run wild on the tracks of course but still...I mean you just never know. A stray bullet...hunting accidents happen all of the time.

I also called the town assesors office to find out who owned the land back there. Apparently, it's kind of an unwritten law that hunters need permission to hunt on someone else's land. The name of the company was "Waldo Operations" which if you ask me just sounds like a farce. I don't know...whatever. Some companies just have weird names I guess. I tried to find a listing for the company to call and fiund out if in fact permission was given but I couldn't find a listing anywhere. The assesor's office said it was listed in Newton Upper Falls but I basically searched the whole state and found nothing.

I don't have a problem with hunting per se. I don't neccesarily agree with hunting just for "fun" but whatever. As with all major issues in the world, I don't really take a stand either way. I am all about freedom of...well freedom of everything. The only issue I have is personal safety for me and my family. Do whatever the heck you want, as long as it doesn't directly harm me or mine in anyway.

So yeah, that's it. Just get the hell out of my "backyard" and I'll be fine.

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits