" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2005-06-26 Today

So, we had a shower here today for my sister in law which I hadn't mentioned previously for a couple of reasons...one being that she might read this and well, it was supposed to be a surprise.

Anyway, it went well and she got a lot of nice things for my nephew. Heh.

She is due in a month (July 21, the day before Julia's birthday). I can't even begin to tell you how excited I am about being an aunt!

My sister, who is due in November just found out that she is having a boy too.

Boys in the family...just how weird is that?!?!?

Ryun set the pool up for the kids today. They spent the better part of the day swimming, then running in for some food, then swimming, and running in for some more food.

Why is it that my kids eat like they've never eaten before when they are at a party?

Seriously, I think it probably has something to do with the junk food factor. I don't generally have junk food in the house so when they are presented with chips and mexican dip and kilbassa and cake and whatever else, I guess the temptation is too much.

I swear to God I must have said to go easy on the food fifty times today.

On the plus side, they were so damn full from all of the crap they ate, I didn't have to cook dinner!

Whee!

0 comments so far

2005-06-25 Budget Cuts

I HATE BUDGET CUTS! Remember all of those fun things I had planned on doing with the kids over the summer through the Middleborough Public Library? Guess what? They were all cancelled due to lack of money.

It really pisses me off when they go and cancel programs that would have been really valuable and educational for the kids. Seriously, and maybe it is just because I have children, but I really feel that any cuts to the public library's funding and the school departments funding should be outlawed. Frankly, I don't think there is any more important thing to spend the money on than the children and their education. They are the future.

I will find some other edcuational and fun ways to spend time with the kids no doubt, but we were all really looking forward to the activities at the library.

Darn it.

0 comments so far

2005-06-24 Human Combustion

I got the mail today and almost had a heart attack at the mail box. I saw a letter addressed to "the parents of Katherine Ellis." The return address on the envelope?

"Middleboro Public Schools Special Education Department."

Immediately, what runs through my mind is something to the effect of,"Please God no. I can't handle anything else being wrong with one of my children. Why? Why? Why?"

The beginnings of a migraine start in without any delay.

I briefly think of leaving the letter for Ryun to open, given the fact that my stress and anxiety level with all of this medical crap is making me feel like I am going to explode already. One more thing adding to the mix just won't be good. "He's so much calmer about this stuff, and yeah maybe I should just let him read it first."

Of course, my curiosity gets the best of me and I open it.

What does it say?

"We are taking this opportunity to share with you the general findings of this screening:

It appears from the results of your child's kindergarten screening that she is not in need of any further evaluations at this time."

Yeah.

So of course that's good. But why did it have to come from the Special Ed department?

Good Lord, I almost exploded on the spot.

0 comments so far

2005-06-24 Weekend

It's Friday! Guess what that means? Yup, you guessed it...the weekend plans post!

I am lazy so this one is going to be in list form.

Friday: Emily goes to dinner and the movies to see, "Herbie: Fully Loaded" with Aunty Heather. Maybe to Build A Bear to use her gift certificate from her birthday. This was Aunty's birthday present to Emily(the movies and dinner, the gift certificate was from a friend). Ryun goes to the movies to see "Land Of The Dead" with our brother-in-law. Sharon stays at home with Katherine and Julia.

Saturday: Birthday party for friends son, housecleaning!

Sunday: Another party.

The end.

1 comments so far

2005-06-24 Rite Of Passage

"I get to sit in the back of the bus now, Mom."

"Really, Emily?"

"Yeah, the rule is you have to be either 8 years old or in third grade."

"Oh."

"Yup. Your little girl is growing up."

I never really considered the move from the front of the bus to the back to be some sort of major milestone or rite of passage. I guess it is though, huh?

She is too funny sometimes.

0 comments so far

2005-06-24 Sleeping Happy

This morning, I went in to wake Emily.

"Emily Terese Ellis, it's time to get up", I said in my cheeriest morning voice.

"Why do you sound so excited?"

"Because I can't wait to see my happy 8 year old girl."

"I'm not that happy Mom, I just woke up."

Heh.

On the flip side, Julia woke at 5:00 this morning, happier than should be legal at that time of day. Honestly, there really should be a law against that.

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits