" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2004-12-19 Emily's report card

Emily got her report card on Friday. She did well...which was such a huge relief I can't even tell you. I had this feeling that because of the attention span issues she was not going to do well, even though when she actually remembered to bring home the papers she had done, they were all fine. I think that deep down I knew she would do ok...it was just kind of a nagging worry that wouldn't go away. Therre are a couple of areas that she does need to improve(finishing her work, following directions and things of that nature) but academically she did very well.

We have a couple of parties to go to today(my uncle's and Ryun's) so I most likely will not be around online for the day.

0 comments so far

2004-12-17 Why I Love (AND HATE) insurance companies

May as well start with the positive. On a good day, or week , or month or whatever, they pay $323 of Emily's $358 Lamictal prescription.

On a day where they have now clue(which seems to be the case lately) they only pay $4. Yeah.

Here is the situation. Accordng to "the plan" a prescription can only be filled 3 times at a retail pharmacy for full benefits in regard to the co-pay. I was unaware of this(it is in the benefit book but yeah, who actually spends time reviewing that). I went last month to get her prescription and the co-pay was $354. Needless to say I almost died in the local CVS. Anyway, I called the insurance company, they explained the "3 times" policy, told me to have the doc call in a 14 day supply to hold me over while we waited for a 90 day to be filled via home delivery. The rep said the co-pay for the 14 day supply would be $35. I was mad but said whatever...$35 is one hell of a lot better then $354.

I went to pick it up and the cost was actually $174. At this point, Emily was about to run out so I just paid it, went home, and proceeded to rip the rep I spoke with a new one over the phone.

I spoke with a supervisor and she told me that from the day they receive the order to the day I get it would be 11 days. Today is day 14 and guess what? I still don't have it.

And yeah, as of tomorrow morning, Emily will be running out.

So, I had to call in a 5 day prescription which will cost $65.

AHHHHHHHHH!

Had I known that Emily was going to be on this prescription permanently, I would have done home delivery from the getgo. It is a lot cheaper($30 for a 3 month supply as opposed to the usual $35 per month). But she has a seizure disorder...and sometimes it takes a few tries before you get it right so we couldn't do the mail order right away.

This is of course my child, for whom I would sacrifice my own life for...and of course I am going to pay whatever I need to to ensure that she ges her medicine. If I never, ever have to witness something like her seizures again...if she never, ever has to go through that again...let's just say that it would make me a very happy mommy to put it mildly. In order for that to happen, she needs her medicine.

I am however filing an appeal, because regardless of me be willing to do anything to prevent her from having another, paying that amount of money is just ridiculous.

So there.

2 comments so far

2004-12-16 Done

I have finished Christmas shopping. GO ME! The whole trip went rather well...Julia was awake and happy(well she is almost always happybut she was awake for about 4 hours straight)and I only had to speak to Katherine a couple of times about not touching anything etc.

Now the only thing left to do is wrap. YAY.

0 comments so far

2004-12-16 Forgot to say...

Make sure to go back to the last page....I updated there with some cute pictures of Julia...just in case you didn't get to see them.

0 comments so far

2004-12-16 In other news...

Ryun is home from great Barrington for good...YAY! He is working down the Cape now which sure does make for a nice commute!

0 comments so far

2004-12-16 Whining and Crying

I am going to finish the last few items I have on my "Stuff I Need To Do Or Get Before Christmas" List. Yes, such a list does actually exist. I am a big list maker...of course I usually forget to bring the list with me but yeah...I make one.

I am bringing Katherine with me to the mall which should be fun...in a "I am being completely sarcastic kind of way." She is at the oh so fun age that entails asking for everything she sees, some of which she would never even use or have any need for but she really doesn't care. I am proud to say that I don't give in though. That will just teach her that whining and crying will get her what she wants, which of course is just not true.

I would normally go when she was at school or when Ryun was around but between now and Christmas, neither of those things will be happening(well I mean Ryun will be home and she will be at school but we have plans already set for those times). So, I am going to go early, before she gets too tired(seriously how lucky am I that I have a five year old who still naps and still goes to bed at 7:30 every night? Yeah I know, you hate me). Hopefully, it won't be too bad.

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits