" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2004-11-27 Scary

The parade went well...except for one rather major thing. When the parade ended, we were supposed to meet up with Emily and her troop back in the school cafeteria, where they were serving cocoa and snacks to the participants. Ryun left the cafe to see if the troop was on the way in. In the meantime, I saw her leaders and all of the girls come in...without Emily. I just assumed that Ryun had met them in the hall and took her to the bathroom or something (I was just a little concerned but not really) Ryun walked in a few minutes later with Emily. I walked up to him and said (half jokingly), "You gave me a heart attack...what did you have to take her to the bathroom or something?" He said no and told me that he found her, outside, near the street, standing with a bunch of strangers. "WHAT?" Apparently, Emily got off of the truck with everyone and some of the parents decided to pick their kids up there...and Emily was left behind. Needless to say, all kinds of bad things started running though my mind...what if she had wandered off looking for us? What of someone took her? What if god forbid she had a seizure? I just had "that feeling" in my stomach...you know the "Oh my God, something terrible could have potentially happened to my baby and what ever would I do" feeling.

Anwyay, I didn't think it was appropriate to discuss this with her leaders with Emily right there so I called when we got home. The leader really didn't have any explanation but she did apologize profusely and hoped that Emily would be coming back to Scouts. I am not going to lie...the thought of switching Emily's troop did cross my mind. I accepted the apology though...and she did sound like she was on the verge or tears(her leader I mean).

God was that scary though. Just knowing that she was out amongst strangers, completely separated from anyone she knew, with hundreds of people walking around...it was scarier than I can even begin to describe.

Thank God Emily had the sense to stay put. She did say that she was a little nervous but generally, she seems unscathed by the whole incident.

I do feel a little bit better talking to the leader and she will be going back. She loves it too much not to send her...and I do feel like the leaders were sincerely sorry.

The parade it self was nice...Katherine had fun collecting candy that was thrown from the float and Julia just watched the whole thing in awe. Emily said that she had fun, and that she saw a number of kids along the route that she knew from school.

I have a Christmas tree/house to decorate and since I don't want to be up until midnight doing it, I think I will go start.

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits