" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2004-11-14 Long Winded

Just in case you were curious, I have four children, and I am not referring to the new kitten.

So yeah, I hate cars. Not only did I need new tires, an alignment, and a new tie rod, I also need a new heater core. And, at one point yesterday we had not one but two cars that weren't really driveable. Ryun's brakes were grinding so he had to replace the pads. That really wasn't a big deal though because it wasn't that expensive and he could do it himself. He just did the back brakes in March so it was very odd that the pads had to be replaced(well only on one side but still) so he figured out that something was wrong with another part and hopefully, he fixed that too. But again, I hate cars.

Today I am going to a jewelry party that Emily's Girl Scout leader is hosting. I am not a big jewelry person but I figure I will just go and Christmas shop for those people in my life that are. Big into jewelry I mean.

I am also going to go pick up Emily's medicine which, because they were unable to get in touch with her neurologist, they filled as is. It just means that she will run out early. So not a big deal really but annoying just the same.

The other day, Ryun and I watched a documentary on TLC about a family that had...brace yourself...14 children, and 1 on the way. The documentary showed them food shopping...the total bill? Over $800.00...for one week's worth of food. I freak when I spend more than $150.00, I can't even imagine. One thing that I really impressed with...the amount of structure their everyday life had. I mean with 16 people in the family including the parents, you kind of have to be "structured". It's kind of like running a small company I would imagine.

Anyway, sometimes I think this family(meaning us...the Ellis' family) might benefit with a little more structure. It's hard though...with me being so laid back and all. Emily most definitely needs it though so I am thinking about things we can differently to incorporate a little more "order." One idea that I have come up with (and have already implimented starting today)is a chore chart. Well...not exactly chores but kind of. Here are a few examples of some of the things on the chart.

"I did my jobs without complaining."

"I respected my family and our things."

"I used nice words all day."

"I finished everything I needed to at home and at school."

"I picked up after myself."

So yeah, not really chores, just things that need to happen. Anyway, I have it set up so that they will get a star in the column for each day if they do whatever the task says. There are 11 tasks, and 7 days in a week, meaning there is an opportunity to receive a total of 77 stars. I have it set up so that if they get at least 67 or the 77 possible stars, they will be able to pick from the "prize" bag.

The prize bag will not be compiled of material things...at least not completely. I will have tags in the bag that might say something like "an extra 1/2 hour before bedtime for one week" or "your choice of movie on family night" or whatever.

So far, and it's only been about an hour since I introduced this, it seems to working well for Emily. They are supposed to be cleaning the playroom and I have been giving them specific tasks(pick up all crayons etc.). She has done every assignment given to her. Katherine has not but I have a feeling that once she sees the stars on Emily's chart and not hers, she may follow suit.

I am thinking of a few other "structural" type changes too. I think that Emily especially will benefit from this but it's not like Katherine couldn't use a little guidance as well.


0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits