" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2004-10-04 He's Back!

EXCITING NEWS!

Doug is back!

For those of you who don't know who the heck he is, or why I am so happy that he is back, click on the link that says "cast" on the right and find his name on the list.

In other news(still trying to determine how "exciting" this is), at 10:41 am today, I will be 29. Most people have their "crisis" at 30...nope, not me. For me, it's 29. It's just...well it's just that I am 29. Does it need any more explanation than that? I am 29.

It's weird how different birthdays feel the older you get. Maybe it's just because I have children...three of them to boot, that my birthday just seems somehow less significant with each passing year. Certain things just don't matter anymore. Isn't life(well a good part of it anyway) all about the kids? That doesn't make me sad...my kids are my life and I think that is the way it should be.

When Ryun asked what I wanted for my birthday, I said to him, "Honestly, nothing." He looked at me strangely and I just told him that really, all I cared about was maybe going out to dinner and a movie and that I didn't want anything other than that. Remember being a kid and virtually the only reasons to be excited about your birthday was presents and a party(if like me you were lucky enough to have parents who made a big deal out of birthdays)? I can't find one reason to be excited about this one.

I am not depressed by it or anything like that. It's something that I can't quite put my finger on. Maybe it's the realization that I really am not a kid anymore. Of course, I haven't been for a long time but when I see a 17 year old kid I sometimes find myself thinking, "Wasn't that me, just last week?" Seriously...it doesn't seem like it was that long ago...let alone 12 years ago.

Maybe its my kids...for every year older I get, they do too. I can't imagine anything more rewarding than the privilege of raising children, and watching them grow so far has been an amazing experience that I wouldn't trade for anything. It's a bit sad though in some respects...knowing that they will never be babies again(even Julia is almost 3 months!).

I don't ever remember being so...philisophical about the passing of another year. It's not that big of a deal I suppose...it just seems like such a milestone...leaving the "20's." It is the end of an era afterall.

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits