" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2004-09-15 Family

The most important thing in life is family. They are the ones who love us unconditionally, support us always, laugh with us, cry with us, teach us and guide us. For me, my family is the backbone of my very existence.

My life would be empty without them. There is simply no other way to put it. They give me purpose. They fill me with pride. They show me day in and day out what selfless loving is all about. My family is a blessing for which I can never be thankful enough, for which I will always wonder what I did to deserve.

There are times in my life, like right now, when I realize how fortunate I am. Despite all of life's hardships, all of the most difficult times, I will always have the support of people who truly love me unconditionally. Not all people are as lucky as me.

Do I take them for granted sometimes? Of course I do, but something or someone always brings me back...

Emily, spending entire afternoon lying on the couch with her sick mother, rubbing her back and kissing her forehead...

Katherine, poking her curly little head in the door saying with her arms wide open, "Mama, come outside and love me."...

Julia smiling up at me with those big blue eyes, glowing with a love that only a mother and daughter can know.

My husband carefully arranging the covers over me before he leaves for work so I won't feel the morning chill in the air.

Does it get any better than that? I don't think so.

I learn from my family everyday. The most important things I have learned so far? That a little patience goes a long way. I have learned that the greatest thing of all is love. That sometimes the hardest thing to remember is the love, not the anger. I have learned that respect and honesty are two of the most important things you can give. That sometimes, even when you don't want to, you have to give a little to get a little. Most importantly, I have learned that above all else, family is what counts. Family is what matters most.

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits