" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2004-09-04 BOYCOTT!!!!!

Computers and dumb ass checkout people make me angry.

Here's why.

Last night, I went food shopping. After getting nearly $200 worth of groceries, I went to check out. At the end of the order, the computer froze completely, before printing out my receipt. The checkout girl( Amanda I believe her name was) said that her register had been slow all day and that it had been taking a while for the receipts to "catch up." It never did. I had been waiting for probably 10 minutes or so before they finally decided to reboot and see if it would print then. It didn't. The manager in charge took my name and I voluntarily gave her my phone number. I have never had a problem with an order before, but Murphy's Law says that this would have been the one time I did and of course would not have had a receipt.

I was about 3/4 of the way home and my cell phone rang. It was her. Apparently, my order had not gone through at all and they had absolutely no record of it. The only way for them to right this and for me to not get over $200 in free groceries was for me to come all the way back, unload my car and bring the groceries back in to be re-rung. I was not happy. I live 20 minutes from the store and was about 5 minutes from home. Apparently there was no other way though, so I went.

When I got there, they had someone meet me outside to unload my car, gave me a $10.00 gift certificate and a bouquet of flowers. I was impressed with the good customer service and even said jokingly, "I hope this happens again."

Early this morning, I went online to check the bank balance and you'll never guess what I saw...two withdrawals from Stop and Shop. The damn order had gone through twice.

I called the store and of course, just because this is my life, they only have it on there register records as going through once.

I brought the front end manager a copy of my bank statement showing the withdrawals. He filled out a form and has to send it to the regional office to be researched. It could take up to 3 weeks for me to get the money back.

Needless to say, I am beyond angry.

I will be going to my bank to dispute the charge and hopefully, have it credited immediately.

And, for the record I am boycotting Stop and Shop.

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits