" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2004-09-02 Old and New Combined

"OLD ENTRY"

The other day Ryun and I took the girls down to the waterfront and to Friendly's for lunch. The waitress said to Ryun, "What can I get for you sir?" Emily said, "Hey, my Daddy's not that old." It was so funny. She automatically thought sir was meant for someone "old". She cracks me up.

"NEW ENTRY"

Speaking of Emily, she starts school againin six days. THANK GOD. Ughh. I love having her home with me during the summer, honestly I do but like most parents, by summer's end, I am ready for a break. She is excited as well, so I don't feel too bad about wanting her to go back.

Part of the problem lately has been her medication. It has had some serious effects on her mood and behavior and has made dealing with her more difficulat than usual. Sometimes, we see a glimmer of the "old" Emily but more often than not, it seems as though she is a different person altogether.

She(or I guess I should say we) have been through quite a lot over the past couple of months. Between her seizures and our many trips too and from the hospital, her medication, her new sister and just everyday life, it has been a stressful couple of months.

I just thank God daily that she doesn't remember the actual experience of the seizures as they happened.

It is so strange to me how quickly life can change. People always say, "in the blink of an eye". I could never quite relate until now.

Her life is just (and probably always will be) different. It is something that will be with her on a daily basis. Everywhere she goes, everyone she is with will have to be told about her condition.

We have already gotten her a medical alert bracelet so that on the rare occasions she is out without one of her parents in tow, should something happen, medical personal will be aware and know what to do.

I don't think about this everyday. Really I don't. Sometimes though, just sometimes, it sneaks up on me when I least expect it...and it just overwhelms me.

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits