" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2004-07-14 Copy of Email Sent to Doctor

Below is a copy of the email sent today to Emily's actual neurologist.

I am writing in regard to my daughter, Emily.

I spoke with Dr. Rotenberg yesterday about the results of Emily's MRI which took place on Wednesday, July 7, 2004. He informed me that an "abnormal signal in the white matter of her brain" was found. He said that it was not something that could really be explained(as far as what exactly the abnormal signal was or what it meant) but that she would need to have another MRI in 6 months to see if anything had changed or if a more definitive answer could be given.

Of course, after I hung up with him, I thought of a few questions and am hoping you may be able to help me out.

When we met originally after the MRI, you had mentioned that your initial thoughts were that she had something called a "Neuron Migration Disorder." I was wondering if this was still the case and if the abnormal signal in the white matter was in addition to that?

How often do you see this type of result on an MRI? Is this a common result?

Does this "abnormal signal" have an official name?

I was also curious as to whether or not it could be determined if her seizures have been caused by this new diagnosis or if her they were an unrelated concern.

Does this new diagnosis change anything in any way? Is her trip to Disney still ok? Can she still participate in the various rides and attractions, so long as she is tall enough and feeling physically up to it? Is her medication(Depakote ER, 500 mg once a day) still the appropriate type for her condition?

I would appreciate any help/answers you may have.

You know how it is...you talk to the doctor and immediately after hanging up, all of those other questions come to mind. Anyway, I hope to hear back from him soon and I will post here with the results.

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits