" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2004-05-01 Partial Deafness

I still can't hear outof my right ear. Did I mention that I thought I had an ear infection? I can't remember and I am too lazy to check back. Anyway, I went to the ER on Monday because my ear felt blocked, kind of like it needed to pop but I couldn't get it to. On Friday, I had an earache so bad that I was brought to tears. I have a pretty good tolerance for pain...I didn't shed a single tear in labor so that should tell you how bad the earache was. Anyway, I took tylenol and eventually it faded to just a dull ache. On Saturday when I woke, the pain was just about gone altogether but my ear felt blocked. I couldn't pop it and it did not clear on it's own. I decided to give it a day or two to see if it would "fix" itself but it didn't. Beacuse I do not have a primary care doctor(yeah, I know I am bad) I went to the ER. THe doctor looked at my ear for about one second and said, "Yeah it's a little red" and wrote a prescription for amoxycillin. I have been taking that now for 5 full days and still can not hear.

The pain has not come back so that is good but now I am wondering if there might be some kind of damage to the ear. I mean 5 days on amoxycillin should clear any infection. Usually, even though the prescription says to finish it, it always works within a day or two. I know this only because Katherine always gets ear infections around this time of year. She is better within a day of taking the medicine. The last time (and I believe the only time) I have ever had an ear infection was when I was pregnant with Emily. I was better after just three doses.

Anyway, I am going to call my mother's primary care in Carver on Monday and make an appointment there for a full physical...which will obviously include my ear. My mother said they are very quick...and will probably be able to see me Tuesday.

So that's it.

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits