" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2004-10-11 Emily

Emily had a seizure this morning. :(

She hasn't had once since June 30(the third of the three she had originally).

She was doing so well...it kind of takes the wind out of your sails if you know what I mean.

I didn't actually witness this one though...which in a way was good...just in the sense that I didn't have to "see that again."

I heard her on the monitor...for a second it sounded like she was singing...humming sort of. I thought to myself, in my half awake state "Could she be having a seizure?" I started to get out of bed to go check(after removing Julia for my arm which took a minute because she was so snuggled in) and Katherine came down. I asked her what Emily was doing and she said, "She's making noise while she is sleeping, and she's shaking." I went up to check...she had stopped by then but just by looking at her I could tell she had just gotten over one. Her pupils were dialated and her lips had that same weird "puffy" look to them...with a scary bluish tinge to her skin and lips to boot. She came around almost immediately upon my calling her name. I aksed her if she remembered anything and she said no.

I haven't posted much here about her medicine schedule but it just changed yesterday from a smaller dose to a larger dose. Since the medicine is supposed to stop seizures and not cause them, I highly doubt that the change is at all related but it still seems like it could be significant.

I called her neuro today and left a message to see what he thinks should be done if anything. I probably won't here from hime until tomorrow though because of the holiday.

Just when I think she is doing better...

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits