" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
My Life In Words

2004-10-06 Meeting the Pres...

I went to Target today and did some shopping for the party this weekend(Julia's Christening...not sure if I had mentioned that or not). Has anyone ever noticed that every time you shop there, whether or not you ask for it, they give you a gift receipt? I am not a recycling freak or anything but it seems like such a waste of paper. Granted the receipt is small but still, if you take that sheet and multiply it by the number of customers Target has on any given day...it's got to be worth a hell of a lot of trees.

Yeah so anyway, Julia's christening is this weekend. We aren't having a huge party just immediate family and grandparents really. It should be nice though...and I am looking forward to it.

I have to call and book our trip to DC tonight. Ryun and I are going to go for our anniversary(not until Memorial Day Weekend, 2005) but I have to use the tickets or they won't be good anymore. The tickets were originally meant for us to go to Disney but obviously, we didn't go. We chose DC because Ryun has never been(I haven't been since 8th grade) and he really likes the historical type things. DC seemed the most logical choice.

My Uncle Eddie lives in Maryland, and is the President of the Building and Construction Trades Department of the AFL-CIO. His office is right next to the White House. He has met all kinds of famous political and world leaders including Ted Kennedy, Former Presidents Bill Clinton and Jimmy Carter, our current president George Bush and former presidential candidate, Al Gore. He spoke at the DNC and had St. Patrick's Day dinner a few years back with President Clintonat the White House. My point in telling you all of this? I am going to ask him if when we are out there, he can arrange for us to meet the president, whoever that may be. How cool would that be...even if it does turn out to be George Bush?!?!? HA! I'm kidding of course...meeting the President, regardless of who it is would just be amazing.

I haven't completely decided who I am voting for anyway. I don't want to be one of those people who can't decide and just opts not to vote at all, so I will have to make a decision soon. It may however, be easier for my uncle to arrange a meeting with the democratic candidate given the well formed relationship between the AFL-CIO and the Democratic party as a whole...not that I will let that in any way influence my decision.

0 comments so far


before & after


Who Links Here

Journal

Blogs

Other Stuff

Contact

Credits